Haste targeting question


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

how would you interpret Haste
a ) its a chain that i target x target and i target the next person within 30' then 30' then 30' etc til i hit my targets

or

b ) target x is loocated 30' from target b, target A is the initial target, all future targets must be within 30' of target a

Scarab Sages

I believe A is the answer. from the way the spell reads.

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Neither. Compare the distance from each target to every other target. None of the distances can exceed 30 feet. In practice, the distribution of the targets must lie within a 30' diameter (not radius) circle.


The spell says "Targets one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart" This means that if any of your targets are more than thirty feet from ANY of the other targets, they must be excluded.

Haste

Target X is 30 feet from Target Y. Target Z is thirty feet from Y and sixty feet from target X. You can target X and Y or Y and Z, not all three.

Edit: since I had to be ninja'd by somebody, I'm glad it's Howie23.

Sovereign Court

ok so as it stands the wording of No two of which entails each target must be within 30' of each other, i.e. if one of them is outside of 30 feet of any of the other targets he is exempt from the spell.

so if it was intended to be a chaining spell it would have said any of the targets must bbe within 30 of another target. but it doesnt it says No two of which may be more than 30'.

Thank you Evil and Howie.
Also those whom i have spoke to outside of the forums

Balgin and JP Chapleu

see usually in my games i go with a majority decision by the gaming public when i'm not sure about the rules. I don't always agree with how the rules are written which is why i don't usually run or play in PF.S. games.

however Mike J, is in most my games, so I can see why he wants idea A, is that is the way he and I have learned how the spell functioned in various games and by default that's how i have run it in the past. but in one session of Shattered star recently in the crow piling, we had a wizard cast haste. and i said why not chain it down to so and so. and when this was said the GM and the other 2 players (both of which are PF.S. gm's as is Balgin all informed me i have been running the spell incorrectly.

its the No 2 of which, that leads me to agree with interpretation B or what Evil said.

again Thank you both.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Haste targeting question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions