abilities with time limits that require a standard action .... when does the time clock start?


Rules Questions


There are several abilities, bloodlines powers, revolations, ect that have a time duration while requiring a standard action to start. Does the round you start the power count against the duration.

A character uses a standard action to start a power but it only lasts one round ... is the one round used up at your next initiative pass?


Yes, else it would let you activate non-standard action abilities for a round infinitely in order to keep them going on others' turns.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yes, the duration ends just before your initiative on the next round. Those powers are primarily either for defensive use, to debuff an opponent, or to buff your allies.

Scarab Sages

Are wrote:

Yes, the duration ends just before your initiative on the next round. Those powers are primarily either for defensive use, to debuff an opponent, or to buff your allies.

^^ This is correct.

It makes it tricky for some characters (like a witch using Cackle, since Cackle needs to be used in the same round as an ability with a 1 round duration if you don't want it to expire before your next turn), but that is the way it works.


That's what I thought which makes bloodlines powers like thunderstaff pretty much worthless at 1st level /sadface


You can use thunderstaff on allies' weapons. And single turn abilities can still be used for attacks of opportunities in between turns.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / abilities with time limits that require a standard action .... when does the time clock start? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions