| carn |
Is one always considered to have a free hand outside attacks when wielding a twohanded weapon, because its free action to grip with one or two hands?
e.g. full attack action, make 1 attack with 2 hands at weapon, then for AOO triggered for whatever reason one uses free action to have one hand free for example for crane style, then free action to grip with two hands again to make additional attacks.
| Mortalis |
You could (as a free action) change your grip after your attack in order to have a free hand (and only hold your weapon with one hand). This would free your hand for crane wing/deflect arrows, etc...
HOWEVER you would no longer be able to threaten areas with your two-handed weapon. You could still threaten with your free hand so long as you had a gauntlet, cestus, knuckles or improved unarmed strike.
| carn |
So the choice would then be a one handed weapon wielded in two hands during the in-turn attacks for 1.5 str bonus, while at end of turn one decides whether free hand and AOOs with just str or no free hand and AOOs with 1.5 str is better.
As specifically some attacks might provoke AOOs from attacked enemy is the following sequence possible:
Full attack action:
first attack vs enemy with 1.5 str(which triggers AOO from enemy)
letting go one hand
AOO from enemy, crane style deflects
two handed grip again
AOO from crane style feat chain is done with 1.5 str
additional attacks from high bab with 1.5 str
| Mortalis |
I would say that isn't possible.
An attack of opportunity is made using the weapon(s) you were threatening with at the time they provoked the attack. In your particular case, you're asking to shift your grip inbetween you deflecting their attack, and making your counter strike, which is (in essence) a followup immediate action.
In order to make the AoO with two hands they would have had to provoke the attack while you were wielding your weapon two handed, which of course is impossible in this case as this particular AoO could only be provoked with one hand free.
| Mortalis |
I would be iffy about agreeing to a free action inbetween deflection and AoO, however the wording Crane Riposte is vague enough to allow that.
Benefit: You take only a –1 penalty on attack rolls for fighting defensively. Whenever you use Crane Wing to deflect an opponent’s attack, you can make an attack of opportunity against that opponent after the attack is deflected.
I would argue that the RAI is that you should be attacking the enemy with the non-deflecting hand (or feet for an actual monk), but that's just me speculating.
Malachi Silverclaw
|
According to a (long-awaited) recent FAQ, changing grip is a free action.
Free actions can only be taken on your own turn (with only two exceptions of which I am aware, and 'grip-changing' isn't one of them, unfortunately).
Most AoOs are taken outside your own turn, and if so, cannot involve any grip changing.
At the very end of your own turn, decide how you're gripping what, and you're stuck with that choice until the start of your next turn.
If it were up to me, I'd rule 'grip-changing' is not an action but part of the attack, just like (RAW) nocking an arrow, but the devs have ruled it a free action so we must live with the consequences.
| Are |
As specifically some attacks might provoke AOOs from attacked enemy is the following sequence possible:
Full attack action:
first attack vs enemy with 1.5 str(which triggers AOO from enemy)
letting go one hand
AOO from enemy, crane style deflects
As far as I can tell, this part would not be possible. The enemy AoO is taken before your attack is resolved (unless the attack specifies otherwise), so you're essentially asking to both count as having a two-handed grip for damage and a free hand for crane style simultaneously.
| carn |
Most AoOs are taken outside your own turn, and if so, cannot involve any grip changing.
The only issue is left about inturn actions.
A has crane style,B has crane style.
A attacks B two handed, B deflects, AOO triggered. Can A change grip to use his own crane style?
A with only one hand on weapon instead moves past B (to attack B from flanking), movement triggers AOO, A deflects with crane style, gets AOO. Can A as its still his turn change grip to gain 1.5 str?
(Independent on this A can certainly then make the attack from the intended position 2 handed, by changing grip after his movement and prior attack)
(Note: crane style is the feat with which i came across the issue, but due to other things similar issues might arise, for example turtle style also allows stuff with 1 hand free, deflect arrow as well and maybe other stuff, i have not though about)
| Eridan |
Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time and effort. You can perform one or more free actions while taking another action normally. However, there are reasonable limits on what you can really do for free, as decided by the GM.
There is a RAW answer : Ask your GM :)
I would rule that you can change your grip on your turn and not during an action (move, standard or full). This is easy to handle and solves all problems (in my opinion). Your example would work on my table:
Free action -> Change to one handed grip
Move action -> AOO, Crane Wing
Free action -> Change to twohanded grip
Standard action -> Attack foe