"One or more creatures, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart"


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So this means the maximum number of medium targets that can be affected with a spell with this wording in the target section is 36?


Which spell are you casting? Haste, for example, has that wording but includes;

pfsrd wrote:
Targets one creature/level, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart

so your targets are limited to your caster level.


The spell has no such limit, it is mass heroic fortune.


I count 37 squares when I draw a picture (assuming you're casting it on a group of people who aren't clustered around you, so the middle is open).

Can people squeeze when receiving a beneficial spell, or is that a no-no?


Good question. Do you think perhaps someone made a mistake in the wording? As written you could get in even more if they were willing to squeeze.


I suppose you could affect quite a few targets - but keep in mind that it's only PCs who get hero points according to the rules. NPCs, animal companions, familiars, summoned creatures, etc don't get them and so, I expect, wouldn't benefit from the spell.


Bill Dunn wrote:
I suppose you could affect quite a few targets - but keep in mind that it's only PCs who get hero points according to the rules. NPCs, animal companions, familiars, summoned creatures, etc don't get them and so, I expect, wouldn't benefit from the spell.

That is not entirely correct. NPCs can get some hero points (via feats, spells, items or GM fiat).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

People can't intentionally end there movement in an illegal square, so that's probably a no to intentionally squeezing.

Its functionally a 15' radius sphere effect. If everyone is one the same ground level, its 24 max targets. Though if everyone could fly in sphere formation its its up to 80 medium sized targets in a 15' radius.


What it means is that of the creatures you cast the spell in the farthest any two of them can be apart that are target of the spell are 30 feet. If any of the targets are farther than 30 feet from another target then they are not legally a target for the spell.


wraithstrike wrote:
What it means is that of the creatures you cast the spell in the farthest any two of them can be apart that are target of the spell are 30 feet. If any of the targets are farther than 30 feet from another target then they are not legally a target for the spell.

Wow. Such insight...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "One or more creatures, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.