Free action touch attacks and movement


Rules Questions


Can you make the Free Action touch attack granted from a spell in the middle of a move (and keep moving)? You can make other Free Actions without a restriction on stopping movement, but I was unsure since this was an attack. If allowed, doesn't that mean that you could take the standard action to cast a spell, start moving, take the free action, and then finish moving?


My initial reaction is no.

I don't know which spell you're talking about that gives you a free action touch attack, but normally, the one free touch attack you get when you cast a spell is part of the spell casting and is granted as a unique rule for that reason; if the spell gives you more than one touch attack (like Chill Touch) then all the rest after the first free attack must be made as standard actions.

Making a standard action touch attack while moving would require Spring Attack (or Flyby Attack).

Now, if you have a spell in mind that says otherwise, maybe that's a special case that falls under the "specific" rule trumps "general" rule guideline.


Based on the FAQ for the magus, I would say no. You can cast, move, and touch; cast, touch, and move; or move, cast, and touch; but like a normal attack, you cannot move before and after without a feat or other ability that grants it.


Thanks guys. This confirms that I will probably need to pick up Flyby Attack (easier to get on a magus than Spring Attack).

The Exchange

But it's still an interesting point when it's applied to, say, a touch attack spell cast using Quicken Spell.


Lincoln Hills wrote:
But it's still an interesting point when it's applied to, say, a touch attack spell cast using Quicken Spell.

I might allow it in that circumstance. I'll do some rules-digging and see if there's any RAW to support it, but as far as I'm aware you can take a swift action at any point in your turn - even mid-move.


Heck, for a +4 spell level increase, Quicken Spell should let you cast on the move, while doing backflips and juggling chainsaws. And yodeling.

But I don't think it does that. Not explicitly. Even though it's really fast, I think the general rules about standing still are not set aside by Quicken Spell, or anything else that doesn't explicitly provide for it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Free action touch attacks and movement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.