Animal companion 'secondary'(?) attacks


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Brand-new to PFS, and my searches keep turning up contradictory answers to this, so my apologies if it is obvious.

My animal companion is listed as having one bite and two claw attacks for a full attack. The claws are not listed as secondary attacks, but can't be used in a standard attack. (The horse seems to be the only companion with listed secondary attacks, for its hooves.)

Are the claws -5 to hit during a full-attack? This would be ameliorated by the level 9 animal companion bonus feat, Multiattack. Or do they have a normal chance to hit?

Thank you for the help!


Unless the claws were explicitly listed as secondary they should be primary (per the natural attacks table), which means they wouldn't take -5, but made at full BAB.


and to be technical, if you only have a standard action in which to attack, you could choose either a claw or bite, you don't actually HAVE to bite. its just usually more advantageous to, so the stat block is set up that way. the 3 attacks for a full attack would all be made at full BAB

beyond that, skylancer answered the question

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animal companion 'secondary'(?) attacks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions