Crafting magic items


Rules Questions


Let me see if i understand this correctly...

To craft, say, a +int headband, i need to make a DC 13 spellcraft check (CL 8+5). If i don't have fox's cunning, i add +5 to the check.

What i'm confused about is :

-Whether i need to be CL 8 to craft the item

-If not, do i add +5 to the spellcraft check if i am not CL 8?


CL is not a prerequisite, don't add +5 for being a lower CL.


Okay, so in theory i could make a +2 headband of int at 3rd level (Assuming enough money), with a CL of 3, but it would detect magic as a CL of 8?


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

As Master Marshmallow said, if you are a lowly 3rd level caster and you do not have Fox's Cunning, then you just need Craft Wondrous Item, 2000gp, and a DC 18 Spellcraft to craft a Headband of Int +2. If the same 3rd level caster had 18,000gp then he could make a +6 headband with the same DC 18 Spellcraft check.

Yes, the caster level of the headband would be 8 whether the creator was 3rd level or 30th level. Some items you can alter caster levels and the cost will go up, but it depends on the type of item. In that case, you need to reference the crafting chart for the formula.


You need to be three times the caster level of the +X bonus you want to craft.

Thus, to create a +2 int headband, you need to be level 6 (2x3=6).


Not relevant to Headbands of Vast Intellect, but remember that if the item lists a Caster Level in the "Construction Requirements" detail (for example, see Amulet of Natural Armor), then this is requirement and not meeting it will add +5 to the DC to craft the item.

For all other items, Marshmallow is correct.


Aranëa wrote:

You need to be three times the caster level of the +X bonus you want to craft.

Thus, to create a +2 int headband, you need to be level 6 (2x3=6).

Only for magical armor and weapons. Most other items don't have a similar limitation.

An Amulet of Natural Armor has such a limit.

Quote:
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, barkskin, creator's caster level must be at least three times the amulet's bonus; Cost 1,000 gp (+1), 4,000 gp (+2), 9,000 gp (+3), 16,000 gp (+4), 25,000 gp (+5)

Bracers of Armor have a limit.

Quote:
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, mage armor, creator's caster level must be at least two times that of the bonus placed in the bracers, plus any requirements of the armor special abilities; Cost 500 gp (+1), 2,000 gp (+2), 4,500 gp (+3), 8,000 gp (+4), 12,500 gp (+5), 18,000 gp (+6), 24,500 gp (+7), 32,000 gp (+8)

But the various stat-enhancing items do not. (The one below is the Belt of Giant Strength.)

Quote:
Requirements Craft Wondrous Item, bull's strength; Cost 2,000 gp (+2), 8,000 gp (+4), 18,000 gp (+6)


Jeraa wrote:
Only for magical armor and weapons. Most other items don't have a similar limitation.

My bad for stating that as a general rule! Wonderous items that enchance armor class or enabling you to hit the bad guys easier, seems to have it..


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Again, just to repeat what has been said, even the caster level requirement of bracers, weapons, or armor can be over come by increasing the craft DC. The only requirement that cannot be over come is the craft feat itself.


The ranks you have in Spellcraft are meant to represent the CL of an item, otherwise paladins and rangers who take crafting feats would never be able to make things.

Silver Crusade

master_marshmallow wrote:
The ranks you have in Spellcraft are meant to represent the CL of an item, otherwise paladins and rangers who take crafting feats would never be able to make things.

Not correct. It is caster level, not spellcraft. For paladins and rangers...

Core Rulebook wrote:

Through 3rd level, a paladin has no caster level. At 4th level and higher, her caster level is equal to her paladin level – 3.

Through 3rd level, a ranger has no caster level. At 4th level and higher, his caster level is equal to his ranger level – 3.

The spellcraft is needed to make an item, and having a higher bonus helps if you don't have the requirements.


Dazz wrote:
master_marshmallow wrote:
The ranks you have in Spellcraft are meant to represent the CL of an item, otherwise paladins and rangers who take crafting feats would never be able to make things.

Not correct. It is caster level, not spellcraft. For paladins and rangers...

Core Rulebook wrote:

Through 3rd level, a paladin has no caster level. At 4th level and higher, her caster level is equal to her paladin level – 3.

Through 3rd level, a ranger has no caster level. At 4th level and higher, his caster level is equal to his ranger level – 3.

The spellcraft is needed to make an item, and having a higher bonus helps if you don't have the requirements.

You missed what I said completely.

lets say we have a lvl 7 paladin, who has a CL of 4. If CL was a prerequisite of crafting he would not be able to craft any item with a CL 5th or above without increasing the DC even though his Spellcraft check could be as high as 10+INT meaning it would be extremely easy for him to succeed on a spellcraft check to make the item.


Hendelbolaf wrote:
Yes, the caster level of the headband would be 8 whether the creator was 3rd level or 30th level. Some items you can alter caster levels and the cost will go up, but it depends on the type of item. In that case, you need to reference the crafting chart for the formula.

i was under the impression that the CL in the book is just a generic CL, but if you make an item as a 3rd level caster (for a lower dc) YOUR item would be CL 3


My turn for a "dumb" question.
The description for a Headband of Vast Intellect [to continue with the aforementioned object] includes the granting of skill ranks equal to the wearer's HD if it is worn for more than 24h.
If you create a Headband...do you have to have ranks in the skill[s] the item enhances?
Also, if the Headband is a +4 or a +6, does it grant these skill ranks per skill times Hit Dice or just one skill rank per Hit Die of the wearer spread over the two or three different skills?
I have to ask because the description of the item is not exactly clear on these points as far as I'm concerned.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

To craft a Headband of Vast Intelligence there is no requirement that the crafter know the skill(s) to be added. They just have to determine them at the time of crafting.

To answer the second part, if I am a 5th level (5 HD) character and wear a +2 headband for more than 24 hours then I gain 5 ranks in the associated skill, 5 ranks in two associated sills for a +4 headband, and 5 ranks in three associated skills for a +6 headband. A 10th level (10 HD) character would gain 10 ranks, etc.

Note that you do not get any additional skill ranks for the increase in your intelligence. Those are assumed to be the ranks in the associated skill(s).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crafting magic items All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions