Clarify the "ground below" portion of Ice Spears, please


Rules Questions


" A creature that occupies a square from which a spear extends (or that is within 10 feet of the ground below) takes 2d6 points of piercing damage and 2d6 points of cold damage per square—creatures that take up more than one square can be hit by multiple spears if the caster is high enough level."

What does the "or within 10 feet of the ground below" mean here? Within 10 ft. of where the spike comes up? Within 10 ft. of where the spike comes up while underground?


It looks like "the ground below" is explaining that anyone on the ground is affected. In the English language, the ground next to a tower is considered "below" the tower. In this case, the ground next to the 10' 'tower' of ice is known as being below the ice spear.


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Sounds to me like it's referring to flying/levitating creatures; if they're within 10 feet of the ground below them, above the square where a spear extends, they're affected.


Cintra Bristol wrote:
Sounds to me like it's referring to flying/levitating creatures; if they're within 10 feet of the ground below them, above the square where a spear extends, they're affected.

This. You could be flying (hovering) just a bit above the ground, but not so far as to be the next cibe up. The first cube above the ground you walk on is 5ft. The next 5 ft cube is 10 ft. If a creature where flying/hovering directly above the ground or in the next cube above where this spell is cast it would be pierced by the spears. If it's in the 15ft cube (3rd cube up)it would not be hit. Basically, think of the spears as shooting up the same height as a 10ft high wall.


Cintra Bristol wrote:
Sounds to me like it's referring to flying/levitating creatures; if they're within 10 feet of the ground below them, above the square where a spear extends, they're affected.

Yeah, that makes sense within the rest of the context of the spell. Teach me to read stuff before fully waking up.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarify the "ground below" portion of Ice Spears, please All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.