| Proioxis |
I have a question about Size bonuses and stacking - mainly, does something that says something to the effect of treating as one size larger, but not having them actually BE one size larger, stack with a size increasing effect?
Example: I have a set of Righteous Full Plate and an +5 Impact Greatsword. The Righteous enchantment increases both me and my weapon to Large (assuming Medium creature). Would that then count my Greatsword as a Huge weapon, giving me a 4d6 roll (I'm actually not sure whether the jump from Large 3d6 to Huge would give me 4d6, but I'm assuming it would)?
I'm also not sure about Size effects stacking and as-one-sizer-larger effects stacking with each other, although I'm pretty sure they don't.
So if I have Righteous up, and someone casts Enlarge Person on me, do I now become Huge? Or do these not stack?
And say I'm using my Impact Greatsword, giving me 3d6. Can I cast Lead Blades on it to get 4d6, or do these bonuses not stack, as they are both treating my weapon as if it is one weapon size larger without actually increasing my weapon's size?
I really want to be able to temporarily increase my size to Huge while using what's effectively a Colossal weapon, but it seems unlikely.
| Gauss |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
2d6 does increase to 3d6 but from 3d6 on things are muddy. Many people use the feat Improved Natural Attack (Bestiary p315) for damage progression since the Table 6-5 on CRB p145 is not clear what happens via two size changes.
So using that 2d6 goes to 4d6.
Regarding Righteous Full Plate and Impact stacking, one changes your size, one counts as one size larger without actually changing your size. Without any wording to the contrary that stacks.
However, you cannot have Righteous and Enlarge Person on you simultaneously. That is prohibited via the description in Enlarge Person.
I am not sure if Impact and Lead Blades stack since that should basically fall under the clause about the same effect twice (Impact is based in part on Lead Blades). But, this is a grey area and would probably be a GM ruling.
- Gauss
| Proioxis |
Damn. Well, that's fine. I doubted it would work, anyway. Although, if Impact + Lead Blades is a gray area, than wouldn't Righteous + Impact be grey as well? If that's the case, I'd say it's even more gray than Impact + Lead Blades, seeing as Lead Blades and Impact have the exact same effect and a size increase and an effective size increase differs at least slightly. I doubt a GM would rule in my favor, I just thought it would be fun.
| Gauss |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Impact + Lead Blades are a grey area because they may be the same ability twice. You cannot benefit from the same ability twice. If Impact is Lead Blades then you cannot benefit from Lead Blades AND Lead Blades. The question is, is it? Impact is based on Lead Blades but that does not necessarily mean it IS Lead Blades. Hence the grey area.
Even if it is not the same ability twice it is altering the baseline damage twice (see below) which should not stack. But, none of that is really spelled out so it is GM fiat.
Righteous + Impact are two totally different effects. One changes your size. The other simply alters your baseline damage as if it were a larger size. Since they are different effects then yes, they stack.
This is not really grey compared to the Impact+Lead Blades issue.
One Paizo Employee (James Jacobs) comments here how Enlarge and Lead Blades stack because one changes your size while Lead Blades changes your weapons baseline damage. He goes on to state that other abilities that change baseline damage should not stack with Lead Blades.
Note: He has stated a number of times that he is not one of the rules guys and that we should take his opinion as just a learned opinion. But, since none of the Paizo rules guys have commented on this this is the closest we have so far.
- Gauss