| Experiment 626 |
I'm playing a luring cavalier/wizard in a home game. If he casts Magic Missile or uses a wand, does he get to apply his far challenge damage to each Magic Missile that hits his challenged target?
I have the same question about Scorching Ray. I assume his damage applies to each ray that strikes the challenged target, and doesn't just get added to the total at the end. This case might be a bit different because there's actually an attack roll involved for each ray, unlike Magic Missile.
| Experiment 626 |
Thanks for answering me.
This thread seems to indicate that things aren't cut and dried, though.
Is there something definitive or a FAQ entry that I'm missing?
| Asurasan |
Not that I'm aware of, there most likely is not going to be a FAQ entry for this, but I think you will get a general consensus that things like this require an attack roll to deal its bonus damage to a target.
Scorching ray should have damage applied to each ray as it requires an attack roll. The closest thing I can point out to support this is the definition for 'ranged attacks' mentions weapons, magic missile is not a 'weapon' where as a 'ray' is considered a weapon.
I don't have my book with me, but if you google pfsrd ranged attack you should find what I'm talking about in the first result under the attacks section. That is the closest argument that I can make to give you what you are looking for.