A Question on the Shield Spell


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

The description of the Shield Spell states:

"Shield creates an invisible shield of force that hovers in front of you. It negates magic missile attacks directed at you. The disk also provides a +4 shield bonus to AC . This bonus applies against incorporeal touch attacks, since it is a force effect. The shield has no armor check penalty or arcane spell failure chance."

I interpret this to mean that the +4 bonus to AC only works against incorporeal touch attacks and nothing else. One of my players had interpreted it as a +4 bonus to AC for everything.

Which of us is correct, or are we both wrong?

Regards

Prux


Your player is correct.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Ansel Krulwich wrote:
Your player is correct.

Does it stack with Mage Armour?


Mage Armor is an Armor bonus and Shield is a shield bonus, so yes they stack. Note that Mage Armor does not stack with worn armor and Shield does not stack with a shield as those are the same type of bonus.


Mage armor provides a +4 armor bonus to AC.
Shield provides a +4 shield bonus to AC.

Bonuses stack if they are of differing types.

Mage armor and shield won't stack with the haramaki and masterwork mithril buckler that the wizard might we wearing, however. Only the greater bonus of each type applies.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A Question on the Shield Spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions