
AGorgen |

Hello. I'm starting playing Pathfinder, so I don't know much about the rules yet. I've read most of the rules books related to the wizard classes, but some questions remains and I couldn't find up-to-dated answers on this forum, so, I'd be glady if you guys could help me out.
1. Can I enhance my arcane bond only on the required level for the feat or if I had the gold I'd be able to do it before?
2. The price for enhancing an item would be 50% of the market price (like the feat) or 25% (50% of the feat)?
3. Can I multi-enhance a ring? Is there a limit? How does it works?
4. Can I change my bond? If I change my bond, my previous item dissapear or, for example, if I forge an arcane bonded ring and enhanced it, could I trade my bond to a new staff but keep the ring (w/o the arcane bond features but enhanced) still?
5. Normally people accept third-party rules, like this: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/3rd-party-feats/paizo-fans-united/general-fea ts/improved-arcane-bond
About crafting a staff:
6. The limit is 10 charges, but staff of hierophant has 10 spells and 14 charges... I didn't understand if it's possible to create something such as this.
7. Can I enhance it as a weapon (craft arms and weapons) and later on as a staff (craft staff) aswell w/o "buying" the feats?
Thanks a lot for any help.

Hendelbolaf |

I am not sure if I am following you 100% but let me try and answer some of these how I am interpreting them.
1. Your arcane bond can be crafted into whatever magic item you can afford or craft. If it is an amulet, it could be an Amulet of Natural Armor +3/Mighty Fists +2 or whatever. The same goes for a staff or a ring. I do not understand your question about "required level" and the feat.
2. The price for enhancing an item is 100% book value or 50% if you craft it yourself. Again, if there is a feat that I am missing here, let me know.
3. You can put multiple effects into a ring. Pay the normal amount for the first effect, for example Ring of Protection +2 8000gp, then pay the price plus 50% more for every other effect that you want to add, for example Ring of Climbing 3750gp. Thus a Ring of Protection +2/Climbing would cost 11750gp to have built or half that to craft it yourself.
4. Yes, but there is a cost as noted in the PRD: "If a bonded object is damaged, it is restored to full hit points the next time the wizard prepares his spells. If the object of an arcane bond is lost or destroyed, it can be replaced after 1 week in a special ritual that costs 200 gp per wizard level plus the cost of the masterwork item. This ritual takes 8 hours to complete. Items replaced in this way do not possess any of the additional enchantments of the previous bonded item. A wizard can designate an existing magic item as his bonded item. This functions in the same way as replacing a lost or destroyed item except that the new magic item retains its abilities while gaining the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a bonded item."
5. No answer as I stay away from most 3rd party books and rules.
6. I am not sure where you see that:
Staff of the Hierophant
Price 220,000 gp; Aura strong varies; CL 15th; Weight 5 lbs.
The staff of the hierophant is a powerful magic item with the ability to both heal and harm, which also gives its wielder a number of protections. The staff is crafted from platinum and topped with a glowing blue diamond. The staff allows the use of the following spells:
•Bless (1 charge)
•Cure moderate wounds (1 charge)
•Freedom of movement (1 charge)
•Hold person (heightened to 5th level, 1 charge)
•Prayer (1 charge)
•Searing light (1 charge)
•Cure critical wounds (2 charges)
•Flame strike (2 charges)
•Righteous might (2 charges)
•True seeing (2 charges)
The wielder of a staff of the hierophant gains a +2 luck bonus to AC and on saving throws. The staff is also a +2/+2 quarterstaff, and its wielder may use it to smite opponents. If 1 charge is expended (as a free action), the staff deals double damage (×3 on a critical hit) for 1 round.
A staff of the hierophant can be used to restore the life of a dead creature by calling upon the wielder's deity to take the staff as a blessing. This causes the staff to vanish, but restores life to any one dead creature as if casting true resurrection. In addition, after using this effect, the wielder who triggered it receives a +2 luck bonus on all ability checks, attack rolls, saving throws, and skill checks for 1 day.
Construction Requirements
Cost 110,000 gp
Craft Magic Arms and Armor, Craft Staff, bless, cure critical wounds, cure moderate wounds, flame strike, freedom of movement, heightened hold person, prayer, righteous might, searing light, true resurrection, true seeing
7. You can enhance a staff to act as a magic quarterstaff for melee AND craft it into a magical staff to use with charges. Again, I do not know the feat that you are talking about other than a craft feat for making magic items.
Hope this helped!

Selgard |

The Staff has 10 charges. You don't add up the item costs to see how many it has- those are how many you deduct from the 10.
You have 10 charges. If you cast Cure Critical Wounds (2) and then cast Searing Light (1) and then use it to also cast True Seeing (2) then 2+2+1=5. you have used half the charges in the Staff.
Hope that helps.
-S

Hendelbolaf |

The Staff has 10 charges. You don't add up the item costs to see how many it has- those are how many you deduct from the 10.
You have 10 charges. If you cast Cure Critical Wounds (2) and then cast Searing Light (1) and then use it to also cast True Seeing (2) then 2+2+1=5. you have used half the charges in the Staff.
Hope that helps.
-S
Okay, I was wondering where the OP was getting 14 charges and now I see what happened. Yes, 10 charges is all a staff ever gets.

AGorgen |

First of all, thanks a lot for the help.
About the question number 1, I'm talkimg about the required level to use the feat Forge a Ring, for example. Normally, Id only be able to use it on lvl 7. Having an arcane bond acts just as if I had the feat, but it does not say if I have to be on the minimum level to (7) or if I can use it before lvl 7.

DM_Blake |

No, you cannot enchant a bonded ring until you're level 7.
"A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required Item Creation Feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat which has a prerequisite level of 5). "
(Emphasis mine)
So you don't need to actually have the various item crafting feats, but you must meet the level requirements of those feats in order to enchant your bonded item.