Oops! with the Empty Hand


Advice


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Currently running RotRA AP and one of my player's is playing a Monk of the Empty Hand. Somehow we understand that the Empty Hand was automatically 'prof' with improvised weapons. Well, after doing a character audit I have come to realize that this is not the case and the character is now level four.

So now I have to decide to leave the monk 'prof' or apologize to my player and start applying the penalty. Thoughts?

I am leaning toward the apology and doing the rules but offering the player a chance to edit his character (aka changing out feats to get Catch Off Guard).

Speaking of Catch Off Guard, given that the Empty Hand treats weapons as improvised weapons would Catch Off Guard apply? I think it would.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

I would say that you should let him rework the character. He can keep the theme, but change some of the particulars such as the archtype, etc.

I often allow my players and early on rework opportunity as sometimes their design does not work when they try and put it to actual use. Some of that is not running something by the DM before we play (I think some players like to show how clever they are by surprising the DM or else they think I will metagame and counter their gimick).


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I think he will want to keep the archtype and just exchange the fighting style feats he is not using with Catch Off Guard and maybe Throw Anything to get the concept back on track.

Thanks

RPG Superstar Season 9 Top 16

A Monk of Empty Hands does not receive the -4 penalty for using improvised weapons. It's not mentioned because the developers thought that was common sense.

James Jacobs clarifies this here.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Pathfinder Accessories, Rulebook, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I didn't know that but on the other hand James word has not always been the same as final errata but for simplification will take his word for it for now.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Oops! with the Empty Hand All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.