Question about spell "Frost Fall"


Rules Questions


Hello everyone!

So one of my player asked me a question about a spell, and, after reading it, im still not sure how it is suppose to work, so i thought I'd ask here!

Here is the spell, copied from srd

"Frost Fall
School evocation [cold]; Level druid 2, sorcerer/wizard 2, witch 2

CASTING
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S

EFFECT
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Area 5-foot radius burst
Duration 1 round/2 levels
Saving Throw Fortitude partial; Spell Resistance yes

DESCRIPTION
The area of this spell is covered in chilling frost, dealing 2d6 points of cold damage to all creatures within it. Creatures that the spell initially damages must succeed at a Fortitude save or become staggered for 1 round. The area remains chilled for the spell’s duration. Any creature that starts your turn within the spell’s area takes 1d6 points of cold damage (Fortitude saving throw for half) but does not become staggered even on a failed saving throw."

So my question is more specifically about this part
"Any creature that starts your turn within the spell’s area takes 1d6 points of cold damage"

Im not familiar with that editing so i'm not sure how to interpret it. What im more used to is
"a creature that starts its turn..."
or "at the start of your turn, any creature within..."

So im not sure which one is suppose to apply to this specific case.

What are your thoughts on this?

Thanks!
Telk!

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

One would presume that "Any creature that starts your turn within" probably means "Any creature that starts your turn within".


If we read it as written an effect triggers at the start of your turn.

It's worded a little differently than usual perhaps, but it has an easy to understand meaning and creates a reasonable result.


Telkryn wrote:
Any creature that starts your turn within the spell’s area takes 1d6 points of cold damage"

Your turn starts. Anyone in the spell's area takes 1d6 points of cold damage.

Telkryn wrote:

Im not familiar with that editing so i'm not sure how to interpret it. What im more used to is

"a creature that starts its turn..."
or "at the start of your turn, any creature within..."

Uh, The words are pretty plain--it matches the latter. Are you just asking because you think it's a typo?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question about spell "Frost Fall" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions