A bunch of Magus Questions concerning spellstrike, spell combat + spellstrike, and bladed dash


Rules Questions

The Exchange

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Spell Combat:

At 1st level, a magus learns to cast spells and wield his weapons at the same time. This functions much like two-weapon fighting, but the off-hand weapon is a spell that is being cast. To use this ability, the magus must have one hand free (even if the spell being cast does not have somatic components), while wielding a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other hand. As a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a –2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty). If he casts this spell defensively, he can decide to take an additional penalty on his attack rolls, up to his Intelligence bonus, and add the same amount as a circumstance bonus on his concentration check. If the check fails, the spell is wasted, but the attacks still take the penalty. A magus can choose to cast the spell first or make the weapon attacks first, but if he has more than one attack, he cannot cast the spell between weapon attacks.

Spellstrike:

Spellstrike (Su)
At 2nd level, whenever a magus casts a spell with a range of “touch” from the magus spell list, he can deliver the spell through any weapon he is wielding as part of a melee attack. Instead of the free melee touch attack normally allowed to deliver the spell, a magus can make one free melee attack with his weapon (at his highest base attack bonus) as part of casting this spell. If successful, this melee attack deals its normal damage as well as the effects of the spell. If the magus makes this attack in concert with spell combat, this melee attack takes all the penalties accrued by spell combat melee attacks. This attack uses the weapon’s critical range (20, 19–20, or 18–20 and modified by the keen weapon property or similar effects), but the spell effect only deals ×2 damage on a successful critical hit, while the weapon damage uses its own critical modifier.

Touch Attacks:

Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You may take your move before casting the spell, after touching the target, or between casting the spell and touching the target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must succeed on an attack roll.

Touch Attacks: Touching an opponent with a touch spell is considered to be an armed attack and therefore does not provoke attacks of opportunity. The act of casting a spell, however, does provoke an attack of opportunity. Touch attacks come in two types: melee touch attacks and ranged touch attacks. You can score critical hits with either type of attack as long as the spell deals damage. Your opponent's AC against a touch attack does not include any armor bonus, shield bonus, or natural armor bonus. His size modifier, Dexterity modifier, and deflection bonus (if any) all apply normally.

Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Full Attack Action:

Full Attack
If you get more than one attack per round because your base attack bonus is high enough (see Base Attack Bonus in Classes), because you fight with two weapons or a double weapon, or for some special reason, you must use a full-round action to get your additional attacks. You do not need to specify the targets of your attacks ahead of time. You can see how the earlier attacks turn out before assigning the later ones.
The only movement you can take during a full attack is a 5-foot step. You may take the step before, after, or between your attacks.
If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest. If you are using two weapons, you can strike with either weapon first. If you are using a double weapon, you can strike with either part of the weapon first.

Bladed Dash:

Bladed Dash
School transmutation Level bard 2, magus 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V
Range personal
Targets you
Duration instantaneous
Source Inner Sea Magic

Both Quantium and Jalmeray claim that this spell was born in their arcane universities. Regardless of the spell's origin, it quickly spread throughout the Inner Sea and beyond as spellcasting sword-fighters learned of its existence.
When you cast this spell, you immediately move up to 30 feet in a straight line any direction, momentarily leaving a multi-hued cascade of images behind you. This movement does not provoke attacks of opportunity. You may make a single melee attack at your highest base attack bonus against any one creature you are adjacent to at any point along this 30 feet. You gain a circumstance bonus on your attack roll equal to your Intelligence or Charisma modifier, whichever is higher.

Dimensional Savant:

Dimensional Agility
Teleportation does not faze you.
Prerequisitites: Ability to use the abundant step class feature or cast dimension door.
Benefit: After using abundant step or casting dimension door, you can take any actions you still have remaining on your turn. You also gain a +4 bonus on Concentration checks when casting teleportation spells.
Source: Ultimate Combat

Okay, all of the above are pertinent to the various questions I have.

The first questions I have pertains to Spellstrike and full attacks. Namely holding a charge. The bolded areas will spell out the exact question while the rest will state the situation.

This Situation below arises:

A Magus starts his turn in melee with an enemy. He declares he's using Spell Combat and decides to start off with his spell. He decides to cast shocking grasp and declares it a Spellstrike. He makes his attack roll and sadly misses. My first question is: Since he can then hold the charge, will his next attacks with his weapon be able to discharge the spell?

Now, let's say the Magus above either misses all his attacks (Sad Panda) or he uses his Spellstrike AFTER he did his normal full-attack routine and missed then. He proceeds to hold the charge until his next turn. Second Question: If he gets hit in between his turns he won't lose the charge would he? --- Third Question: Perhaps his opponent proceeds to move out of combat or otherwise provokes an Attack of Opportunity. Would the Magus be able to discharge the spell with that Attack of Opportunity? Let's say for the moment he makes it to his next turn and is still holding the charge. He decides to Spell Combat, deciding to do his full attack. Fourth Question: Assuming my first question was answered with a yes, he should be able to Full-Attack, discharge his spell with Spell Strike then cast another spell thanks to Spell Combat, right? --- Fifth Question: Let's say this Magus is having a bad day and misses with all of his attacks during this spell combat, when it gets to his spell casting step of spell combat, can he just decide not to cast a spell and and thus not lose the charge?

That SHOULD cover everything concerning Spellstrike. Onwards to Spell Combat + Bladed Dash OR Dimension Door w/ Dimensional Agility!

This question is a lot easier to boil down to one simple question:

When I declare Spell Combat, I can choose to cast the spell prior to the full attack. If I am not within 5-foot step range to my target (and thus would normally have to take a move action to move up to them), can I cast either Bladed Dash or Dimension Door (whilst having the Dimensional Agility feat) to reach my target THEN take my full attack after these spells resolve (Bladed Dash give the caster an attack), getting my multiple swings, in a similar fashion to Pounce?


So, your asking if by using the ability to cast and full attack you can use bladed dash to reach the target and get your full attack still? Yes. Yes you can.


Quote:
My first question is: Since he can then hold the charge, will his next attacks with his weapon be able to discharge the spell?

Yes. Spellstrike is specifically designed such that you do not lose any of the functionality of delivering spells with touch attacks. If it can be done with touch attacks, it can be done with spellstrike. Thus, instead of making a touch attack to deliver the stored spell, you can make a weapon attack.

Quote:
Second Question: If he gets hit in between his turns he won't lose the charge would he?

No, you do not lose the charge for taking damage. Some DMs might rule differently depending on how much roleplaying is going on. For instance, if you were knocked prone, do you lose the charge because you brace your hand on the ground? Is there a reflex check involved? This is up to the DM, there are no written rules involved

Quote:
Third Question: Perhaps his opponent proceeds to move out of combat or otherwise provokes an Attack of Opportunity. Would the Magus be able to discharge the spell with that Attack of Opportunity?

Yes, any attack you make with your weapon will discharge the spell. Again, where you would be able to discharge the spell with a touch attack as an AoO, you can also do it with your weapon.

Quote:
Fourth Question: Assuming my first question was answered with a yes, he should be able to Full-Attack, discharge his spell with Spell Strike then cast another spell thanks to Spell Combat, right?

Yes. It's a legitimate strategy to cast a spell, move into combat, then next turn use Spell Combat to deliver two spells on your target in one turn. You only get one additional attack because of Spellstrike, however.

Quote:
Fifth Question: Let's say this Magus is having a bad day and misses with all of his attacks during this spell combat, when it gets to his spell casting step of spell combat, can he just decide not to cast a spell and and thus not lose the charge?

There's no rules specifically for this instance. I'd rule that you can, since that just makes sense, and you've already taken -2 to your attacks that round for basically no reason at all.

Quote:
When I declare Spell Combat, I can choose to cast the spell prior to the full attack. If I am not within 5-foot step range to my target (and thus would normally have to take a move action to move up to them), can I cast either Bladed Dash or Dimension Door (whilst having the Dimensional Agility feat) to reach my target THEN take my full attack after these spells resolve (Bladed Dash give the caster an attack), getting my multiple swings, in a similar fashion to Pounce?

Yes, these work just fine. It's very powerful. It also works with Force Hook Charge.

NOTE: If you haven't already, I recommend reading A Guide to Touch Spells, Spellstrike and Spell Combat


xevious573 wrote:
My first question is: Since he can then hold the charge, will his next attacks with his weapon be able to discharge the spell?

RAW: No

RAI: Yes

Technically you don't hold the charge until after the turn in which it was cast. But we know (from JB's post here) that the intent is that you can still deliver the spell with other attacks during that turn.

xevious573 wrote:
Second Question: If he gets hit in between his turns he won't lose the charge would he?

No, you discharge the held charge if you touch something, not if something touches you.

xevious573 wrote:
Third Question: Perhaps his opponent proceeds to move out of combat or otherwise provokes an Attack of Opportunity. Would the Magus be able to discharge the spell with that Attack of Opportunity?

Sure. He can use Spellstrike to deliver it with a weapon AoO, or he can use a touch attack, since he's considered armed.

xevious573 wrote:
Fourth Question: Assuming my first question was answered with a yes, he should be able to Full-Attack, discharge his spell with Spell Strike then cast another spell thanks to Spell Combat, right?

You can use your attacks/spell in either order, so you can certainly attack first, deliver the held charge, then cast your spell afterwards.

xevious573 wrote:
Fifth Question: Let's say this Magus is having a bad day and misses with all of his attacks during this spell combat, when it gets to his spell casting step of spell combat, can he just decide not to cast a spell and and thus not lose the charge?

He "can also cast any spell" that means it's optional. He can certainly choose to end his action without casting, thus keeping the held charge. He still takes/took the -2 penalty on his earlier attack(s), though.

xevious573 wrote:
If I am not within 5-foot step range to my target (and thus would normally have to take a move action to move up to them), can I cast either Bladed Dash or Dimension Door (whilst having the Dimensional Agility feat) to reach my target THEN take my full attack after these spells resolve (Bladed Dash give the caster an attack), getting my multiple swings, in a similar fashion to Pounce?

Basically, yes, though you're not taking a full-attack, you're just making all your attacks with your melee weapon.

There's a FAQ Request Thread here if you'd like to see the Spell Combat/Full-attack thing resolved.


Firengineer wrote:
Quote:
Third Question: Perhaps his opponent proceeds to move out of combat or otherwise provokes an Attack of Opportunity. Would the Magus be able to discharge the spell with that Attack of Opportunity?
Yes, any attack you make with your weapon will discharge the spell.

"Can", not "will". Using Spellstrike is optional. He can hit guys with his sword all day long and only discharge the spell when he wants to.

Firengineer wrote:
You only get one additional attack because of Spellstrike, however.

You never get an extra attack from Spellstrike. You just make your existing attack with a weapon instead of with a touch, unarmed strike, or natural weapon.


To second Grick's last line: If you would like clarification of the whole spell combat system for 'magi', please go FAQ that thread. It seems like confusion comes up around it on an almost daily basis, so having a lot of these questions hammered out would be great.

:P Maybe we could bribe Paizo to set up a monthly Q&A text chat to answer some of these?


Xaratherus wrote:
Maybe we could bribe Paizo to set up a monthly Q&A text chat to answer some of these?

We actually had the chance to buy some FAQ answers by sending JB holiday gifts.

Apparently, we scrooged ourselves.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A bunch of Magus Questions concerning spellstrike, spell combat + spellstrike, and bladed dash All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions