Casting spells with variable Material Components from items.


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The effect of some spells depends on the Material Components used. How does this work for spells cast from items, when there are no Material Components involved?

If someone was to use a Scroll of Simulacrum, for instance, would it:

  1. create a specific Simulacrum, determined by the creator of the scroll?
  2. create any Simulacrum the user of the scroll wishes, as long as it has the Hit Dice predetermined by the scroll's creator?
  3. create any Simulacrum the user of the scroll wishes, as long as it does not exceed the Hit Dice predetermined by the scroll's creator?
  4. create any Simulacrum the user of the scroll wishes, regardless of the value of the scroll?
I doubt (d.) is the case, since this would be rather abusable. (a.) makes logical sense, but severely limits the use of having certain spells in items at all. So it's probably (b.) (you get something of equal value) or (c.) (you get something up to equal value, or less), but do any rules exist to support that notion? My search-fu has failed me.


Material costs are paid at the time of creation. In this case, with Simulacrum, the HD of the created simulacrum would be based on the amount that the scroll maker put into the scroll.

Strict interpretation is B though C is fine though it would mean losing the extra gold.

So you would go into a magic shop and find a Scroll of Simulacrum (10HD) which costs 2275g + 5000g = 7275g.

I could also see this issue being house-ruled that the scroll costs 2275g and someone who casts from the scroll will have to provide the extra gold.

I can also see a house rule for a fully created 'all in one' scroll that has a predetermined target created and gold dust cost paid. So the level 16 rogue Tony (with massive UMD, naturally) goes to a wizard, gives him 2275 for the scroll, 4000 gold in dust, and an ice statue of himself; the next day the wizard gives him a scroll of Simulacrum (Tony).

Either way, the cost will be paid by someone and factored into the scroll's value.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Casting spells with variable Material Components from items. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions