Page of Spell Knowledge


Rules Questions


... for a cantrip.

Can you get one? If so would it cost 500g? (Or even 250g?) And if you have one, can you cast that cantrip an unlimited number of times?

Silver Crusade

PRD_link

It's not mentioned at all for cantrips.


there is no page of spell knowledge for 0 level spells. there is, however, a cracked orange prism ioun stone, which is basically the same thing, if a bit overpriced.


If you can't get it from a magic item that already exist, you have to resort to using the stone. It wouldn't be unreasonable to have a 500gp price for a cantrip though. They are worth half a 1st level spell after all.


I have a question about pages of spell knowledge too and instead of doing a new thread i will just add it here. Pray excuse.

Page of Spell knowledge said wrote:
A page of spell knowledge is priced based on the spell's cleric or sorcerer/wizard spell level, unless the spell doesn't appear on either of those spell lists, in which case it is based on the highest spell level as it appears on any other spell list. For example, a spell that is on the 4th-level inquisitor list and the 2nd-level paladin list is priced as a 4th-level spell.

This sentence is confusing me.

What happens if someone has a PoSK with a spell that is not on his spell list?
Can it be casted? How?
Can a non-caster UMD it?
Can a sorcerer use a oracle/bard/ranger spell not on his spell list for example?
Can one cast a spell from a higher slot one does not yet have?

Shadow Lodge RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

Hayato Ken wrote:

I have a question about pages of spell knowledge too and instead of doing a new thread i will just add it here. Pray excuse.

Page of Spell knowledge said wrote:
A page of spell knowledge is priced based on the spell's cleric or sorcerer/wizard spell level, unless the spell doesn't appear on either of those spell lists, in which case it is based on the highest spell level as it appears on any other spell list. For example, a spell that is on the 4th-level inquisitor list and the 2nd-level paladin list is priced as a 4th-level spell.

This sentence is confusing me.

What happens if someone has a PoSK with a spell that is not on his spell list?
Can it be casted? How?
Can a non-caster UMD it?
Can a sorcerer use a oracle/bard/ranger spell not on his spell list for example?

If the spell isn't on your Class spell list, you can't use it. The PoSK only gives you access to spells from your class' spell list:

PoSK wrote:
If the bearer is a spontaneous spellcaster and has that spell on her class spell list, she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known.

The sentence you quoted is there to deal with situations where a spell exists at different levels on multiple spell lists. Haste, for example, is a 3rd level Sorcerer/Wizard spell, but a 2nd level Summoner spell. In that case, if you want to buy it as a PoSK, you have to buy it at 3rd, since that's the level it appears at on the Sorcerer/Wizard spell list. If it wasn't on the S/W list, you'd still have to buy it at 3rd, since that's what it appears at on the Bard spell list, and the Bard level is higher than the Summoner level. No matter what level the spell counts as for buying the PoSK, you still cast it at the normal level your class normally casts it

As for UMD? I say no (or more accurately, yes, but to no effect). You can UMD it to make the Page think you're a class that has the spell on its spell list, but then you don't have any spell slots from that class with which to cast the spell.

So a Rogue could UMD the Page to add Bless to her list of spells known, but then she has no spell slots with which to cast Bless, so she's SOL.

A Sorcerer could UMD the Page to add Bless on her list of Spells known, but it would be added to her Inquisitor or Oracle spell's known, not her Sorcerer spells known, so her Sorcerer spell slots would be useless for casting it, and she too is SOL.


Thanks for the clarification Benchak!

Especially for PFS it´s a good think because one can now know what can be done and what not as a future reference.

By the way, it´s a real freat item, i love it!
Having a sorcerer with a spellbook made of those pages really fits my image of a mage. You can cast some spells on your own, with others you rely on devices, but at some point either your power or that of a device is exhausted.

All that is now lacking is something like the mythic rules ability to have CL and DC´s of devices like wands etc modified by the user. Just like it already exists for wizards and magi. :)

Shadow Lodge RPG Superstar 2010 Top 8

As for the original question on the thread, I'd be fine with a 0-level Page of Spell Knowledge that cost 500 gp.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Page of Spell Knowledge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions