Hold person and black tentacles


Rules Questions


We came across this in our game. My character has a normal cmd of 50 ( I have focused on a grapple master) I failed my will save and was held then black tentacles was cast. Being helpless gives me a dex of zero normally I have a dex of 16

My cmd is from bab 11 both grapple feats and my str is 8 and my favored class bonus is one to my cmd a level for grapple and dirty trick and gloves of grapple. How does paralyze work with black tentacles ? Would I still have a cmd or not

Grand Lodge

I don't see how you'd apply your Strength, BAB or relevant feats when paralysed. As you say, your Dexterity modifier becomes -5. You have the CMD of a Medium-sized immobile object, just as you have the AC of such an object if attacked. Favoured class bonus and magic items might apply, simply because it's vague how they actually protect you.

Altogether, the minimum likely +12 CMB for black tentacles should succeed every round unless the caster rolls a 1, which I have seen happen.


Pshaaa naw


Your BAB still applies, but you have not dex or str bonus. More than likely you are out of luck unless a nat 1 is rolled.


Being helpless, I would be inclined to rule that your Dex and Str mod both become -5, the same as an any other paralyzed creature. You would likewise lose Dodge bonuses and your Wis bonus if a monk. At most, your CMD would drop to 11 (your base attack bonus) + other modifiers that aren't lost when denied Dex (the new -5 modifier from Str and Dex would cancel out the base 10). But do note that the tentacles also get a +4 bonus to attack you while helpless, which could improve to a +8 if you end up prone.

You might actually still be quite resistant to a grapple even if you are held, depending on the extra accumulated bonuses, but the odds aren't in your favor.

P.s. Is that a strength of 8 or a strength modifier of +8?


+8

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

It is in the rules:

PRD wrote:
Performing a Combat Maneuver: When performing a combat maneuver, you must use an action appropriate to the maneuver you are attempting to perform. While many combat maneuvers can be performed as part of an attack action, full-attack action, or attack of opportunity (in place of a melee attack), others require a specific action. Unless otherwise noted, performing a combat maneuver provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of the maneuver. If you are hit by the target, you take the damage normally and apply that amount as a penalty to the attack roll to perform the maneuver. If your target is immobilized, unconscious, or otherwise incapacitated, your maneuver automatically succeeds (treat as if you rolled a natural 20 on the attack roll). If your target is stunned, you receive a +4 bonus on your attack roll to perform a combat maneuver against it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hold person and black tentacles All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions