How to calculate GP value of Spellbooks


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can anyone help me out with this, as well as it's location in the rules?


Lacan wrote:
Can anyone help me out with this, as well as it's location in the rules?

Core Rulebook, Magic Chapter, Arcane Spells, Arcane Magical Writings, Selling a Spellbook: "Captured spellbooks can be sold for an amount equal to half the cost of purchasing and inscribing the spells within."

-edit- Note that "purchasing" in this case is not buying scrolls to scribe, but rather paying for access to another spellbook (half the cost to write the spell into a spellbook).

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Link to my previous post, with SKR quote.

There are two ways to go about doing it, and neither one has been officially confirmed in the FAQ/Errata:

Option A: as SKR stated. The "purchasing" is in reference to the cost to acquire the spellbook (usually 15 gp).

Option B: as Grick stated. The "purchasing" is in reference to the cost to acquire the spell by copying it from another wizard's spellbook (half of the inscription cost).

As I stated in my linked post, Option A is likely the correct one, but the actual wording in the CRB that Grick pointed out is cumbersome at best. The bigger issue is that this question has been asked so frequently, it's finally time for the Developers put up an FAQ about it.


HangarFlying wrote:

Link to my previous post, with SKR quote.

There are two ways to go about doing it, and neither one has been officially confirmed in the FAQ/Errata:

Option A: as SKR stated. The "purchasing" is in reference to the cost to acquire the spellbook (usually 15 gp).

Option B: as Grick stated. The "purchasing" is in reference to the cost to acquire the spell by copying it from another wizard's spellbook (half of the inscription cost).

As I stated in my linked post, Option A is likely the correct one, but the actual wording in the CRB that Grick pointed out is cumbersome at best. The bigger issue is that this question has been asked so frequently, it's finally time for the Developers put up an FAQ about it.

THIS

You can't even make a computer program to calculate the exact amount because of all the variables and confusing rules about this.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
HangarFlying wrote:
The "purchasing" is in reference to the cost to acquire the spellbook (usually 15 gp).

That makes vastly more sense. It should be worth the actual materials used to create the item, not an approximation of what the cost might have been to acquire it.

Liberty's Edge

Grick wrote:

That makes vastly more sense. It should be worth the actual materials used to create the item, not an approximation of what the cost might have been to acquire it.

I agree. Also, having looked over the CRB quote again, if you read it as: "[c]aptured spellbooks can be sold for an amount equal to half the cost of purchasing [the spellbook] and inscribing the spells within [the spellbook]", the sentence structure doesn't feel so cumbersome after all.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How to calculate GP value of Spellbooks All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.