Confirm crit when you Meet or exceed AC, right?


Rules Questions


Howdy all!

Tried searching the message boards, and I wanted to ask here before I submitted an errata request for the Ultimate Equipment guide.

Page 16 of the UE book states that crits are confirmed when the confirmation roll only exceeds the AC - not just meets it.

UE wrote:
"If this second attack roll exceeds the target’s AC, the hit becomes a critical hit, dealing additional damage."

But this leaves out "meets or" does it not?

Apologies if this has already been discussed.


-
Core Rulebook, page 184.

Critical Hits: When you make an attack roll and get a
natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your
target’s Armor Class, and you have scored a “threat,”
meaning the hit might be a critical hit (or “crit”). To f ind
out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make an attempt
to “conf irm” the critical hit—another attack roll with all
the same modif iers as the attack roll you just made. If the
conf irmation roll also results in a hit against the target’s
AC, your original hit is a critical hit.
-

Ultimate Equipment Guide isn't supposed to be changing the core rules here. Should be to the effect of 'meets or exceeds'.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Confirm crit when you Meet or exceed AC, right? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions