Caster level of items with multiple spells


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

In a thread about pricing magic items there was the example of a wondrous item with several spells with different caster levels.

I doubt that that is an intended mechanic, as managing an item with 5 different caster level is a nightmare.
What power work and what power don't work if someone dispel it?
What is the DC of crafting the item?

Checking the crafting rules I find this:
Creating Staves:
"The caster level of all spells in a staff must be the same, and no staff can have a caster level of less than 8th, even if all the spells in the staff are low-level spells."

No similar text for the other items.

Someone know if there is a Dev answer to this doubt?

Liberty's Edge

No comment?


I don't have the book in front of me but I'm pretty sure if you want to enchant a wondrous item "again" you simply have to pay more money because you are enchanting the same item with the same magic item creation feat.

I believe it is in the chart at the end of the magic item section in the CRB where it tells you the formulas on making your own magic items. Not sure though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Caster level of items with multiple spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions