
rectulo_Fr |

I don't understand the note 2 in the early firearms table (ultimate combat) :
A weapon with two types is either type (wielder's choice) if the entry specifies “or.”
In the table, no firearms specifies "or". They are all B and P except one that spcifies P
What does it means ?
In the advanced firearms table, the note 2 states :
A weapon with two types is both types if the entry specifies “and.”

Gauss |

In the Core Rulebook there are two good examples of OR vs AND.
A Dagger is P or S. You can use it as either a Piercing or a Slashing weapon. You choose which mode it is in.
A Morningstar is B and P. You do not get to choose which mode it is in. It is always both.
Type: Weapons are classified according to the type of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons.
Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon.
In other cases, a weapon can deal either of two types of damage. In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon.
The second paragraph is referencing AND while the third is referencing OR.
This can create some odd issues. For example, a black pudding is split (and undamaged) if struck by piercing weapons. It is damaged by blunt weapons. What happens if it is both? My ruling was that it is damaged and then split.
- Gauss