| Meredith Nerissa |
| 9 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Meredith Nerissa wrote:This is the point where I suggest that this is a better question to take to the rules forums so it can be FAQed and noticed easier by the design team.James Jacobs wrote:Meredith Nerissa wrote:When using bolas to trip someone, should I add my Strength modifier or my Dexterity modifier to the combat maneuver check? Combat maneuver rules don't seem to account for ranged variants.Unless a weapon or attack specifically says otherwise, you adjust your CMB check with your Strength, not your Dexterity.Thank you so very much! Bolas are so queer, as the rules for them are quite vague. If it's not too much trouble, could you help clear up a few other things about them?
Do you have to hit with it before you can make the CMB check?
Does it deal damage and trip, or do you have to choose one or the other?
Does a small character really take a -1 size penalty to his CMB when using bolas?
Do you take range increment penalties on your CMB check when using them to trip?
Are you still limited to tripping a creature one size larger than you when throwing bolas? What if I were to use larger bolas?
Does using bolas to trip provoke attacks of opportunity?
Trip specifically says make a melee attack. How do I do that with bolas (a strictly ranged weapon)? Is tripping with bolas considered a melee or ranged attack?
Such an odd weapon! Quite simply, how are they meant to be used? Can you provide an example for us?
So...er...discuss the topic and hit the FAQ button.
| Ravingdork |
Isn't the FAQ button essentially a rewrite button, hogarth? It's what allows us to bring things to the attention of the designers for FAQ and errata. I for one know this has been discussed before, and not answered. So maybe now is the time we start smacking that FAQ button around?