deadly stroke + hold the charge


Rules Questions


If my Magus casts a touch spell but misses/doesn't use it the round it's cast, he is considered "holding the charge", correct?

If the following round on his turn he uses Deadly Stroke, can he, as a free action, deliver the held spell through his weapon, therefore doing double the normal damage from the spell as well?


No, you just add the weapon damage on as bonus. So if you have a 1d8+3 weapon and deliver a 2d6 touch spell through it, using Deadly Stroke you'd add up the damage as follows:

1d8+3 (base weapon damage) + 1d8+3 (bonus from Deadly Stroke) + 2d6 (touch spell)

If you crit on this, it'd be as follows:

1d8+3 (base weapon damage) + 1d8+3 (bonus from Deadly Stroke) + 1d8+3 (bonus from Crit) + 2d6 (touch spell) + 2d6 (touch spell crit)


Why?


For the same reason it doesn't double on Vital Strike. These are effects for the weapon damage. Spell damage is tacked on and works by its own rules.


Vital strike:

Quote:
When you use the attack action, you can make one attack at your highest base attack bonus that deals additional damage. Roll the weapon’s damage dice for the attack twice and add the results together

Deadly Stroke:

Quote:
: As a standard action, make a single attack with the weapon for which you have Greater Weapon Focus against a stunned or flat-footed opponent. If you hit, you deal double the normal damage and the target takes 1 point of Constitution bleed (see Conditions).

Seems to me that it would also work with spellstrike where vital strike would not. It's very cheesy and broken, but it should work. Sounds like something to clear with your GM first.


Weapon Focus wrote:
Choose one type of weapon. You can also choose unarmed strike or grapple (or ray, if you are a spellcaster) as your weapon for the purposes of this feat.
Deadly Stroke wrote:
As a standard action, make a single attack with the weapon for which you have Greater Weapon Focus against a stunned or flat-footed opponent. If you hit, you deal double the normal damage and the target takes 1 point of Constitution bleed (see Conditions).

So, you double the damage with whatever you're using to make the attack. Delivering it through the weapon, that's what you're making that single attack with, so that weapon is what you double the damage with. Now, if you had Weapon Focus(touch spell), and held the charge of, say, Shocking Grasp, and then used a touch attack the next round with it, then I'd say it looks like you could deliver it with Deadly Strike, but not delivering it through the weapon.

Also, of course, you'd probably have to be at least a 16th level magus, since greater weapon focus requires you to be an 8th level fighter to get the feat.


My question here then, is what exactly is doubled? "Double the normal damage" is so vague that you simply can't tell. What if it's enchanted with "Flaming"? Does that increase? Or bonus damage from other sources, like Bane. I think this can be interpreted either way

Scarab Sages

Firengineer wrote:
My question here then, is what exactly is doubled? "Double the normal damage" is so vague that you simply can't tell. What if it's enchanted with "Flaming"? Does that increase? Or bonus damage from other sources, like Bane. I think this can be interpreted either way

"Extra damage dice over and above a weapon's normal damage are never multiplied." You never multiply things like Bane's extra 2d6 or the extra damage from a property like Flaming.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / deadly stroke + hold the charge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions