Does pull stop movement?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

.....
.....
.XY..
.....

X is a creature with reach and a pull of 5'
Y is the victim.

Y withdraws, gets one square away, tries to go further, provokes AoO. The creature hits, triggers pull, and yanks X back 5' right back to its side.

Does that end Y's movement action, or what?

The Exchange

Unless I missed something, It doesn't grab or stop movement.

FYI to anyone posting pull is a monster ability allowing this:

Pull (Ex)

A creature with this ability can choose to make a free combat maneuver check with a successful attack. If successful, this check pulls an opponent closer. The distance pulled is set by this ability. The type of attack that causes the pull and the distance pulled are included in the creature’s description. This ability only works on creatures of a size equal to or smaller than the pulling creature. Creatures pulled in this way do not provoke attacks of opportunity and stop if the pull would move them into a solid object or creature.

Format: pull (tentacle, 5 feet); Location: Special Attacks and individual attacks.

Grand Lodge

Right, so the mover would only miss out on five feet of movement and... that's it?


Nuku wrote:
Right, so the mover would only miss out on five feet of movement and... that's it?

In your situation, on an attack of opportunity, that's pretty much it.


I would say that Pull would stop a charge or a run action (because you have to use straight lines for your movement in those cases,) but not a normal move action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does pull stop movement? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions