Gaseous Form Question


Rules Questions


Want to know what happens in this situation -

Character is swallowed whole.
Character is able to drink a potion of Gaseous Form.

What happens now?

Silver Crusade

Sean K. Reynolds says that a Gaseous creature can't be grappled.

Since Swallowed Whole is just you being grappled, I would say you could probably just float up out of it's mouth. You'd still take damage and it might take you a round to get out, but once you are gaseous, the creature shouldn't be able to keep you inside of itself.


well based on my reading of swallow whole and gaseous form...

unless the creatures stomach is full of cracks or wholes you cannot escape without still succeeding in cutting your way out or making a check to get back to the mouth of the creature that swallowed you...gaseous form doesn't make you incorporeal...once you were in the mouth I would say you could pass out of the mouth as if it were anything else you could get through though

I'm not even close to 100% on this determination though...so if anyone else has more input feel free, and feel free to correct if I am indeed wrong :)

EDIT: as Elamdri said though...I read Gaseous form fast lol...you may be able to just float up to the mouth but still take damage (that sounds reasonable to me Elamdri)

Shadow Lodge

If I had to take a guess, when you turn yourself to gas in the creatures stomach, the creature would burp you out?

Silver Crusade

Well, nothing about Gaseous form would outright negate the Swallow Whole damage, although you would still receive the DR/10.

I'd probably rule that it is a full round action to get out, since you're actually inside it's stomach rather than grasped in it's jaws.


sounds good to me


You may be better off dumping the potion into the creatures stomach. No saving throw, and personally I'd rule that the potion was willfully swallowed.


Halfling Barbarian wrote:
You may be better off dumping the potion into the creatures stomach. No saving throw, and personally I'd rule that the potion was willfully swallowed.

Thanks

Never thought of that and it gave me a good chuckle.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Gaseous Form Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions