Acid Splash


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Acid Splash notes that the acid fades after a round.

Does this mean the 1d3 damage is inflicted two rounds(on impact, and just before fading)?

Scarab Sages

Initial spell damage only. No residual damage the next round.

What you can do is use a flask of acid as a material component to make it like what you wanted, initial damage and damage the next round. Drawback is that the flask of acid is consumed with the spell.

Grand Lodge

Ah, ok. I do wonder why they noted the fading thing?

Dark Archive

Melting locks or something, maybe?


If it didn't fade, you could use it to create an endless supply of acid, fill vials full of it, and sell them for 10gp each.


Nuku wrote:
Ah, ok. I do wonder why they noted the fading thing?

Because, as Acid Splash is a Conjuration [Creation] spell with an instantaneous duration, the acid should keep on existing after the spell ends. Saying it disappears removes that. Prevents people from spamming a cantrip for infinite amounts of acid. Create Water was also given a similiar line in Pathfinder, to prevent abuse. (The water from Create water didn't disappear within a day in 3.5 D&D like it does in Pathfinder. For that matter, the acid from Acid Splash didn't disappear in 3.5 either.)

Quote:
Creation: A creation spell manipulates matter to create an object or creature in the place the spellcaster designates. If the spell has a duration other than instantaneous, magic holds the creation together, and when the spell ends, the conjured creature or object vanishes without a trace. If the spell has an instantaneous duration, the created object or creature is merely assembled through magic. It lasts indefinitely and does not depend on magic for its existence.

Grand Lodge

Ah ha, an excellent reason. Many thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Acid Splash All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions