| Rallaster |
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Even though the book does say "create a dagger of force in his off hand" (UM pp.49)
CAN a magus create two Athames?
In no place does it say that your Athame goes away if you create another one.
And correct me if I'm wrong but with "Pool-sourced athame" a Magus COULD in level 3 potentially get a +5 athame?
Thanks in advance!
| Stome |
Trying to shoehorn it into combining magic effects is more then just a stretch. Since there is no handedness in PF what is your "off hand" can be decided whenever you like.
There does not seem to be any raw to disallow it. Even allowing it it is still a horrible archetype. Its a swift to summon one of them. To get another would be another swift and then to pump them via arcane pool it would be yet another.
Since they only last 1min it would take 3 rounds to get off the ground every time. Even the concept of TWF with spell combat and 3/4 BaB is just absurd. You are never going to hit anything.
| Ramza Wyvernjack |
It's not really ambiguous. It's specifically says Off-hand, followed by allowing you to cast spells as if that hand was free. It's really just so you can use Twf while staying able to cast spells.
On the other hand, it also says that the hand holding it is counted as unarmed for spell casting, so one could try arguing he can hold it in mainhand, though that'd be some very specific nitpicking for personal gain.
Can't say I see why'd you want to waste a perfectly good spell level on a half assed dagger that lasts 10 rounds when you could just buy one and upgrade it as normal.