| BuzzardB |
Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.
The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.
Based on those rules I would say he has to have the exotic weapon proficiency since a medium character can NOT wield a 2-handed large weapon ever.
I think the question is does having Exotic Weapon Proficiency[Bastard Sword] treat a large Bastard Sword sword a one-handed weapon.
If it does then you could use it with the Exotic Proficiency as a two-handed weapon, if it does not then you cannot use it at all.
| Drakkiel |
This is endlessly argued...a bastard sword is a one handed weapon...u can use it one handed without EWP but u take a -4...if u wield a large bastard by rules it has to be 2 handed but u will suffer a -6 total (-2 for large and -4 for no EWP)
So to answer your question...yes...a character with martial proficiency can wield a large bastard sword 2 handed...but you take the negatives...if u have EWP u only take a -2 so u might as well take it
Krodjin
|
A bastard sword is a 1 handed weapon. So, by RAW a medium creature can wield a large one 2 handed.
I do not think that is necessarily the intent.
It would be so much easier to put this to bed if the Bastard Sword was an exotic 2 handed weapon that could be used 1 handed with the EWP, rather then an exotic 1 handed weapon that can be used 2 handed without EWP.
| Shinigaze |
This is endlessly argued...a bastard sword is a one handed weapon...u can use it one handed without EWP but u take a -4...if u wield a large bastard by rules it has to be 2 handed but u will suffer a -6 total (-2 for large and -4 for no EWP)
So to answer your question...yes...a character with martial proficiency can wield a large bastard sword 2 handed...but you take the negatives...if u have EWP u only take a -2 so u might as well take it
This is actually a lot better of an argument than the ones people try to make saying that you can wield it without EWP and only taking the -2 for size. I applaud you sir!
Also, WafflePieCake why did you make two separate threads asking the same question?