| HowlingWolf |
Two questions:
Does this spell let me rest in heavy armor without issue?
If I cast it and then begin my eight hours rest, do I regain the spell slot when finished resting?
From my understanding, you do not regain slots used during the eight hours resting. However, it would be cast right before the eight hours start. To me it implies I would regain the slot.
If I understand the spell correctly, my character can be in heavy armor 24/7 and never have to sleep. That doesn't count times when there is an attack of course. All for using one of my limited spells known or wand.
| Bearlock |
DESCRIPTION
This spell enables the subjects to stand watch or keep vigil throughout the night without any ill effects.
The subjects suffer no fatigue and gain all the usual benefits of a full night's rest.
The subjects gain hit points as though from resting, wizards may prepare their spells as though they had slept for 8 hours, and so on. Effects that rely on actual sleep or dreaming are ineffective, though the subjects are still susceptible to effects that would put them to sleep, such as sleep or deep slumber. Any vigorous activity, including fighting, immediately ends the effect, and the affected creatures must either have the spell cast on them again or sleep for the remaining hours to avoid fatigue and gain the benefits of a full night's rest.
Emphasis mine. As I'm reading it, yes, you gain that slot back when finished resting. You cast the spell before you began resting, and the spell gives you the benefits of 8 hours sleep, thus allowing you to prepare your full compliment of spells.
As far as the full armor goes, I'd say there would be no negative effects, because you aren't really sleeping. Some DM's may get a little snippy about the distinction, so clear that part first.
Stride
|
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Noticed this thread and had something to add about this spell. The spell is a first level spell, but it targets 1 creature per 2 levels. This means at level 1, you couldn't use this spell.
sorry for the bump, but i haven't seen this cleared up anywhere yet. has there been any official statement on this spell? RAW obviously sets a precedent for spell that can be learned at a certain level but not actually used. is this just to make wands slightly more expensive without making the spell 2nd level?
or is it just a typo?
| DM_Blake |
Some GMs would read that as:
Level 1-2: 1 creature
Level 3-4: 2 creatures,
Etc.
Especially older GMs who remember 1st and 2nd edition where MANY effects were written just like this one and the rules said to read the effects like this.
Some GMs, especially newer GM's or any other GM who made the transition and plays by RAW rather than nostalgia) would enforce no benefit until second level. For those GMs, there are some traits/racial features/class features/etc., that might be able to raise your caster level enough to use this at first level - which might be what the devs had in mind all along.
Deighton Thrane
|
Usually with those kinds of spells, they have a "Minimum 1" clause in there somewhere. Might've been cut for space.
Probably worth FAQing to see if it can get an errata.
Except that it's not in a hardcover, so you're not going to see an FAQ for it. Best we could hope for is one of the developers popping in and giving their opinion, which still won't be official, but should work for most home games.
Does anyone know the Summon Mark Seifter spell?
| Torbyne |
Chengar Qordath wrote:Usually with those kinds of spells, they have a "Minimum 1" clause in there somewhere. Might've been cut for space.
Probably worth FAQing to see if it can get an errata.
Except that it's not in a hardcover, so you're not going to see an FAQ for it. Best we could hope for is one of the developers popping in and giving their opinion, which still won't be official, but should work for most home games.
Does anyone know the Summon Mark Seifter spell?
Its more of a ritual than a spell, start with making a thread about kineticists...
| Mark Seifter Designer |
Deighton Thrane wrote:Its more of a ritual than a spell, start with making a thread about kineticists...Chengar Qordath wrote:Usually with those kinds of spells, they have a "Minimum 1" clause in there somewhere. Might've been cut for space.
Probably worth FAQing to see if it can get an errata.
Except that it's not in a hardcover, so you're not going to see an FAQ for it. Best we could hope for is one of the developers popping in and giving their opinion, which still won't be official, but should work for most home games.
Does anyone know the Summon Mark Seifter spell?
Nah, I haven't posted in that recent thread about new elements, for instance ;)
Frankly, I would rule minimum 1 in a home game, but strict RAW it doesn't seem to have it, and rounding is down by default unless stated otherwise.