Reach weapons and threatening adjacent squares


Rules Questions


Like most questions, this has probably been answered.

The PRD says, "Large or larger creatures using reach weapons can strike up to double their natural reach but can't strike at their natural reach or less."

This is regarding large creatures, but still applies to my question. If I'm wielding a polearm (or a giant in the case of the example), wouldn't I threaten all squares since I could always use the shaft as an improvised weapon?

Would this allow me to take attacks of opportunity?

My current character plans on taking the catch off guard feat to be a machine with his bardiche and I don't want this to be cheese. I also want balance on both sides of the screen, which is why I'm wanting the clarification.

The Exchange

No. You do not threaten adjacent or natural reach opponents unless you used some other weapon for close range or you would need a feat that basically allows you to "choke up" on your weapon.
Armor spikes or spiked guantlets are usually what is used to overcome this restriction.


I don't think you can use a polearm as an improvised weapon while you're also using the weapon as.. well, whatever weapon it already is. It's one or the other.


You might find this thread useful: Reach weapon hafts as improvised weapons. I'd go with the spiked gauntlets or armor spikes, though.

One of my current characters is a Phalanx Soldier, so he shield bashes things inside his reach. :)


I had found a thread with Gauss and Doomed Hero arguing about it... I'm thinking you're right and it can't be done... Would be pretty sweet though.


Parody wrote:

You might find this thread useful: Reach weapon hafts as improvised weapons.

I'd go with the spiked gauntlet/armor spikes, though. :)

Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach weapons and threatening adjacent squares All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions