| Sertorias |
IF a ghoul hits you and you make the save against the paralysis, and then he hits you next round, do you need to make the save every time he hits you or are you immune after you make the first save?
Also if you fail to cast defensively, the book says the spell fails, does that mean you still provoke an AOO as well?
As a magus my DM decided to figure that if I fail to cast defensively, I fail the spell, take the AOO, and waste a turn. I read the book as saying you lose the spell but I think the book specifically says when an action provokes and since it doesn't say that happens then it shouldn't provoke as I failed to cast but I didn't fail to watch my opponent...
How can I fail at both with one roll?
| Gilfalas |
IF a ghoul hits you and you make the save against the paralysis, and then he hits you next round, do you need to make the save every time he hits you or are you immune after you make the first save?
The ghouls listing does NOT state you are immune after an initial save so you have to make the save every time. Normally such things are explicitly stated in the creatures or ability description.
Also if you fail to cast defensively, the book says the spell fails, does that mean you still provoke an AOO as well?
Simply using the defensive casting option guarentees you do not cause an attack of opportunity for casting. The concentration roll is to see wether or not you lose the spell. Failing that roll means you use up your action (whatever that is for the spells casting time) and lose the spell but if you declared defensive casting then there should be no AOO on you at all.
| Sertorias |
ok, in previous versions of dnd it was stated that a ghoul couldn't use its paralysis on you more than once per day so I was curious. I thought that was how defensive casting works but I wanted to be sure. Normally if it provokes the book explicitly says so but my DM wanted to house rule that a failed con check means I fail the spell and provoke. I'm a magus, that would really hurt my character.