Wreath of Blades - No Saving Throw?


Rules Questions


The spell details for "Wreath of Blades" (Ultimate Combat, pg 249) states "Saving Throw: Reflex half (special, see below)," but the description doesn't make any mention of a saving throw. The damage the spell deals (1d4/2 caster levels) is only described as being given to a target adjacent to the caster. I assume that this is where the Reflex save would come in, but the description makes no note of it. I can't find any FAQ or errata on this. Is there any saving throw associated with this spell?


The fireball spell's description doesn't mention a saving throw either.

I am curious about the "(special, see below)" part, though. I think it refers to the special abilities you can get from magic weapons used a foci: if those abilities get a save, then targets of the spell get those saves against the extra abilities.

Link to the wreath of blades spell.


Distant Scholar wrote:

The fireball spell's description doesn't mention a saving throw either.

I am curious about the "(special, see below)" part, though. I think it refers to the special abilities you can get from magic weapons used a foci: if those abilities get a save, then targets of the spell get those saves against the extra abilities.

Link to the wreath of blades spell.

Right, the qualifier is what got me too. I feel like such notes are recalled in the description, and I didn't see that here.

Grand Lodge

The special below is in reference to how to negate the don't need to cast defensively ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wreath of Blades - No Saving Throw? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.