
![]() |
3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |

I have a character that uses improvised weapons in place of the traditional ones. He mostly uses a crowbar for melee and whatever is handy for ranged. That being said, I want to know if it is legal to get a masterwork crowbar and then enchant it. I would have no problem paying normal costs for this, I just want to be able to run his theme all the way through to level 12. I won't be able to do that without being able to get some +1 or better weaponary. So, is this legal?
And would it be legal in Pathfinder Society? I asked around at the convention I was at this weekend. I got a general "I don't see why not, but I don't know for sure."

Aureate |

In my opinion it's not a weapon, it's a tool. So no, you can't add weapon enhancements to it. It goes against the spirit of improvised weaponry too. If you are focusing in a single item it isn't exactly something you just grabbed because it was handy.
If it were allowed, and I don't think it should be, I would expect table variation.

Stuffy Grammarian |

"Enchantment" is a school of magic. Enchantment spells, both charms and compulsions, are mind-affecting spells. Therefore, they have no effect on inanimate, mindless tools. One cannot enchant a crowbar, unless it is a sentient crowbar.
One can of course magically enhance tools, but that's a separate topic.