Fuse Style Questions


Advice


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Fuse Style (Ex):

At 1st level, a master of many styles can fuse two of the styles he knows into a more perfect style. The master of many styles can have two style feat stances active at once. Starting a stance provided by a style feat is still a swift action, but when the master of many styles switches to another style feat, he can choose one style whose stance is already active to persist. He may only have two style feat stances active at a time. At 8th level, the master of many styles can fuse three styles at once. He can have the stances of three style feats active at the same time. Furthermore, he can enter up to three stances as a swift action.

At 15th level, the master of many styles can fuse four styles at once. He can have the stances of four style feats active at the same time. Furthermore, he can enter up to four stances as a free action by spending 1 point from his ki pool.

This ability replaces flurry of blows.

How exactly in combat does this work? Can a MoMS go into a dungeon, declare that he has Crane and Tiger for instance up and then come combat round 1 use a swift to declare which style is active? Or does he have to start rd 1 by activating Tiger, rd 2 activating crane, and using a swift whenever he wants to declare his active style?


Depends if DM allows you have to stances activate before Combat begins.

Otherwise, you have to slowly turn on one at a time.

At 8th level, you can active all three at same time using Swift action (no more one at at a time required).


im the dm but one of my PCs is playing a MoMS so im trying to decipher how the rule is supposed to be written


Before level 8, if neither style is active he must activate them one at a time using swift actions. Whether or not he can do this before a battle is up to you, as the DM. If he is allowed to enter his styles before a battle, then he would still be in those two styles already when the combat begins (and therefore not need to re-activate them... they're already active in that case).

At level 8 and beyond, he can enter up to three styles at the same time, with a single swift action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Also he could enter combat against one of his allies and then enter the stance. It is a bit cheesy but technically legal.


Gallyck wrote:
How exactly in combat does this work? Can a MoMS go into a dungeon, declare that he has Crane and Tiger for instance up and then come combat round 1 use a swift to declare which style is active? Or does he have to start rd 1 by activating Tiger, rd 2 activating crane, and using a swift whenever he wants to declare his active style?

Honestly, it's up to you, the GM.

Do you think a martial artist can walk around in a stance all day? If yes, then he can just have them both on all the time.

Otherwise, he has to use a swift action on his first turn to enter one style, then next round, use another swift action to enter the other (both stay active, of course).

At 8th level, he can spend just a single swift action on his first turn to turn on three styles at once.

And for clarity, there's no "active" stance. Once both are on, they are both active and he gets the benefits of both.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I play a MoMS. I don't even attempt to walk around with two styles already active. I have on occasion asked to activate one before combat starts because I think there's an unseen opponent around (because I spotted odd footprints or something) OR because the things we CAN see have said/done/not done something to make me think they're going to start hostilities.

In this latter circumstance, I've had the DM say "The monk assumes a combat stance. Everyone roll initiative." However, I've only got one active and have to wait for my initiative to activate the second.

Liberty's Edge

Wouldn't the monk in question be able to blow one of his/her other actions to activate the second on round 1, like using swift action to turn on style #1 and the move action to turn on style #2, then still have a standard or move to use for that round?


Shar Tahl wrote:
Wouldn't the monk in question be able to blow one of his/her other actions to activate the second on round 1, like using swift action to turn on style #1 and the move action to turn on style #2, then still have a standard or move to use for that round?

No, the different types of actions can't just be transferred down the line like that (with the exception of the fact that you can use a standard action as a move action, but that is specifically called out.)

I beleive there is something like that in 4E if I remember correctly, but not in pathfinder. (Otherwise we would see high-level casters tossing around 3 spells per turn via Quicken Spell)

EDIT: although if it was me, I would probably house-rule that they can turn on a style with a move action or standard action if they really want to, it doesn't seem overpowered.
I don't think it is fair to just walk around in all stances, as that is part of the benefit of an existing feat (Combat Style Master allows you to have a stance already active when a combat starts)

EDIT: ninja'd my previous edit :P

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

Shar Tahl wrote:
Wouldn't the monk in question be able to blow one of his/her other actions to activate the second on round 1, like using swift action to turn on style #1 and the move action to turn on style #2, then still have a standard or move to use for that round?

Technically, no. Although you can "downgrade" your standard action for an extra move action, that's the only swap the rules allow. In a home game I'd probably allow a move-action startup for this particular situation, but it'd be a houserule.


Once again this community proves itself as the friendliest around. Thanks a lot guy. Ill probably allow the monk to choose a style when he rolls initiative. Then use a swift to active another. At lvl 8 he can use the swift to activate his other styles.

Thanks guys.


I would probably allow it too, though I want to point out the rule that says no, just for posterity:

Style Feats wrote:
As a swift action, you can enter the stance employed by the fighting style a style feat embodies. Although you cannot use a style feat before combat begins, the style you are in persists until you spend a swift action to switch to a different combat style.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Fuse Style Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice