| Mr. Shiny |
Freedom of Movement "enables you or a creature you touch to move and attack normally for the duration of the spell, even under the influence of magic that usually impedes movement..."
Would this prevent a targeted character from being affected by Icy Prison's lasting effects?
-Would they totally ignore the spell effects whether they successfully saved or not? I'm having trouble conceptualizing how freedom of movement would help when a failed save results in being totally covered in ~foot-thick layer of ice
-Would they still take the (caster level) cold damage each round, but not have movement impaired at all?
My PCs know they'll be facing a baddie with this ability, and I'm guessing they might think to prep this; I figured it would be helpful to understand the mechanics of the interaction beforehand.
Thanks for the help!
| Kazejin |
By my interpretation, I'd say FoM allows the person to ignore the entangle effect of a successful save, but not the entrapment of the failed save.
My reasoning is that being trapped in an ice block is functionally the same as being trapped in a small, condensed room. Since FoM doesn't let you bypass walls, I don't think it would let you bypass the ice. I'd make the same ruling for a spell like Forcecage, or any of the various Wall spells.
| Blueluck |
I agree with Kazejin & cwslyclgh.
Icy Prison creates a wall at least 9" thick with a hardness rating, hit points, etc.
Freedom of Movement doesn't let you pass through solid surfaces.
| Kazejin |
PRD wrote:Whether or not the target saves, it takes 1 point of cold damage per caster level each round it is helpless or entangled in the ice.if it is not encased or entangled it would take no damage.
I agree here. If there's no entanglement, there should be no damage either.
I could also see a GM fiat rule going the other way though. You could argue that not being entangled by the ice doesn't mean that the ice isn't still on you, and thus subjecting you to the cold. But, again, this would be a fiat/houserule issue. By the written rule, no entanglement = no damage.
| Mr. Shiny |
cwslyclgh wrote:PRD wrote:Whether or not the target saves, it takes 1 point of cold damage per caster level each round it is helpless or entangled in the ice.if it is not encased or entangled it would take no damage.I agree here. If there's no entanglement, there should be no damage either.
I could also see a GM fiat rule going the other way though. You could argue that not being entangled by the ice doesn't mean that the ice isn't still on you, and thus subjecting you to the cold. But, again, this would be a fiat/houserule issue. By the written rule, no entanglement = no damage.
Makes sense to me - if it can't stick to you, it can't deal damage.
Thanks for the help, folks!