Improvised Weapons, Threatening, and AoO's


Rules Questions


If anything, within GM caveat, can be considered an improvised weapon, and you can threaten adjacent squares with improvised weapons (fact), then wouldn't almost everyone always threaten and be eligible to conduct attacks of opportunity? If so, does this break part of the "flavor" of the game. More importantly, to me personally, by threatening, they increase the likelihood of a rogue being able to get into a sneak attack position.

1) a bard playing a musical instrument could use the instrument as an improvised weapon.

2) a ranger could use his bow as an improvised weapon (not to shoot arrows with but to strike the opponent with physically), or an arrow for that matter.

3) a wizard with a sheathed sword cane could use the "scabbard" as an improvised weapon.

Thoughts?


Treesmasha Toothpickmaker wrote:
If anything, within GM caveat, can be considered an improvised weapon, and you can threaten adjacent squares with improvised weapons (fact), then wouldn't almost everyone always threaten and be eligible to conduct attacks of opportunity? If so, does this break part of the "flavor" of the game. More importantly, to me personally, by threatening, they increase the likelihood of a rogue being able to get into a sneak attack position.
Treesmasha Toothpickmaker wrote:


1) a bard playing a musical instrument could use the instrument as an improvised weapon.

No. When being played it is not a weapon

Yes. when using it as a club etc.

Treesmasha Toothpickmaker wrote:


2) a ranger could use his bow as an improvised weapon (not to shoot arrows with but to strike the opponent with physically), or an arrow for that matter.

No. When firing arrows

Yes. When held as a staff

Treesmasha Toothpickmaker wrote:


3) a wizard with a sheathed sword cane could use the "scabbard" as an improvised weapon.

Yes. but why are you in melee. Cast a spell like a real wizard.

Hey if we are going for dumb stuff why not just say " I am going to kill you!" Congrats you just threatened.

Grand Lodge

Previously discussed here.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

To threaten with an improvised weapon, you have to wield it as such. When I'm carrying my trashcan to the curb it's just a trashcan. When I want to wield the lid as an improvised weapon, I carry it completely differently. Same with that step-ladder. Or that Les Paul electric lute.

To begin threatening with an improvised weapon, "draw" it just like you would a regular one. To return to carrying it normally, use the rules for putting it away.


Yes, BBT, which is what led me to my thought/question, which is not so much can you do it (threaten); but rather, that almost all the time you will be threatening (unless you are holding nothing in your hands) and does that break "flavor" not RAW nor RAI even. My research shows that it is clear that IW's threaten, and that RAI agrees they should.


Really SG? I am standing at a bar, drinking a flagon of ale, a brawl starts, I use my flagon as an IW to hit an opponent. How did I adjust my grip? IMO, wielding most IW's would be merely a matter of holding them in the hand(s).


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Sure you did. You at least gripped it tighter. And that's part of why you can't AoO when flatfooted (without combat reflexes). Even with your bare fists, you clench them before making an attack (unless you're a monk, they do some funky hand things). If it's a beer bottle, you probably gripped it by the neck, perhaps you smashed the bottom to make it a piercing weapon instead of bludgeoning.

That being said, most tools that can also be used as improvised weapons might be gripped the same way, such as hammers and woodcutting axes, but even then I'm going to grip my wood chisel differently to attack with it than when I'm trying to gouge out a hinge pocket on this door I'm fitting.

To avoid everyone threatening all the time with anything, the best way to deal with it is to say that you have to intentionally wield the thing you want to threaten with. Exactly what action that takes is up to your GM. In the case of your flagon, it's probably free. When the bard wants to use his accordion or his bagpipes, well, that's probably not a free action.


Let me see if I can rephrase your meaning SG. Your view is that an item is not an IW until such time as it is used/readied as an IW. If this is your logic, I can accept that. It would seem to keep proper "flavor" for things as well.

The bard is playing his banjo. The banjo is not an IW nor is he threatening with it atm. It becomes the bards turn to act, he declares he is using his banjo as an IW and swings it at his opponent. It is now and until the end of combat or used in a non-combat manner, an IW; and will threaten as the combat continues.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I'd rephrase that just a little bit.

Almost any item that can be held can be an improvised weapon. A held item doesn't threaten as an improvised weapon unless the holder intentionally wields, readies or uses it as an improvised weapon.

The banjo on the bard's lap being played is still an improvised weapon, it's just not currently being wielded as such.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Improvised Weapons, Threatening, and AoO's All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions