Disguise Self and Oracle's Wasting


Rules Questions


Our group has just found a Ring of Chameleon Power, which has "the spell disguise self as often as [wanted]."

The Oracle's curse of Wasting states, "You take a –4 penalty on Charisma-based skill checks, except for Intimidate."

Disguise self states, "You make yourself — including clothing, armor, weapons, and equipment — look different."

Does this mean that an oracle with wasting could use the disguise self spell provided by the ring, and negate the -4 charisma penalty because they choose to "look different"?: i.e., like a non-rotting corpse.

Or is the wasting something supernatural that transcends the magic?

RAI: a curse is a curse, deal!
RAW: you look different baby, and your skin is so soft and smooth (until I touch it that is).


The curse gives a penalty to Charisma rolls. It might be based on appearance, on magic, on you being cursed and therefore a bitter jerk--the description is irrelevant.

RAW: You suffer the penalty because it says you do, and the rules as written don't care about appearances

RAI: You suffer the penalty anyway because it wouldn't be a "curse" if something as simple as Disguise Self could override it.


Disguise self has no affect on charisma based skills. It wouldn't make that Charisma 6 barbarian any more pleasant to talk to either.

Although, I do suppose it could be used to remove any prejudice based modifiers. For example, if you were a human talking to something that hates humans you could look non-human to avoid the hate.


And looking different still won't take away the -4 to Use Magic Device that Wasting gives you. (Because, naturally, if your curse affects your skill at talking to strangers, it's going to affect whether you can finagle that wand into working.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Disguise Self and Oracle's Wasting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions