Skipping The Spellbook?


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Hi. Been having a lot of discussion and forum-hopping today, figuring out spellbooks. Specifically, how to handle them when you're building at higher levels.

We came to the understanding that when building the spellbook, you count the cost of each spell as just the writing cost, then add the spellbook(s)' cost(s), and boom.

Anyways, I am conflicted about the Blessed Book and its use when building a character.

Could a player simply say "oh, I grab one of these and use it to negate the material cost of all the spells I get"? Thus making the spellbook basically non-existent as a Wealth factor?

Grand Lodge

Even Blessed Books have their page limits. But the answer to your question is sure..... if you're okay with it as the DM. Players need to understand that every part of the game is subject to provisional approval. If you decide that such books don't exist, that's also your preogative.


First off, Wizards get their 1st level spells, and the 2 wizard spells/wizard level for free, so scribing those into your spellbook costs nothing.
Secondly, I'm assuming the material cost you're referring to for spells is that of writing a spell into your spellbook from either A. A scroll or B. another Wizard's Spellbook, and if that's true, then yes, a Blessed Book specifically says you ignore the material writing costs of putting spells into the Blessed book. It's why it's got a hefty price to begin with(even more expensive than 10 Spellbooks for the same amount of pages). It's typically what I, as a player, use as my backup spellbook, tucked away in a Secret Chest, in my own demiplane...surrounded by a prismatic sphere...with a symbol of death on the front cover...wizards can never be too prepared... >.>

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Skipping The Spellbook? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions