Is Swallow Whole ever a free action?


Rules Questions


I could see something like a T-Rex having to decide whether it wants to either bite something new or swallow what it already in its mouth.

On the other hand, a froghemoth or a elder polyp or something else with a whole mess of tentacles should be able to snarf down lunch and still make some tentacle attacks.

Are there any swallow whole rules where it basically just counts as an attack, or is it always ex=standard action?


Actually, clarification- is it always a standard action or is it a combat manuever that can count as a single attack?


Fast swallow is in the Universal Monster Rules.


lol thanks "Fast swallow" makes me giggle, though I'd never seen that before.

Since swallow is basically a grapple- could I let something attempt a swallow at -20 and still take its other attacks that round?


LOL, oh the NSF jokes I could make from this thread title...

"No, it usually runs about $50"...

Sorry....


I know, right?

"No, you usually have to pay for breakfast the following morning."


Well, since the ability exists, and all the -20 to grapple does is remove having the grappled condition on yourself, I'd say no. But, if you are cool with it and your players are cool with it, go for it.

Granting fast swallow as a monster feat, however, might be equitable to all...


yeah, I'll look over it again.
Was just thinking "four tentacle attacks and a swallow attempt" vs. "four tentacle attacks and a bite attack" would be the most logical tradeoff.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is Swallow Whole ever a free action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions