Clarification on the Dhampir racial trait Fangs


Rules Questions


Hey guys...I've been trying to read up on this, but I just can't get it clear. Hope you can shed some light on the matter.

Dhamphir's can chose to opt for the alternate racial trait Fangs, which gives them a bite attack of 1d3.

But then again, does that grant a regular bite attack, or just a bite attack when you are grappling/biting someone helpless?

And how does this translate to the feat: Blood Drinker.

And how does this combine with the Sanguine bloodline of Sorcerers?

I know the issue has been debated, but I just need to know if you can acually use the bite attack the Dhamphir gets, or that he needs to get a regular bite attack from some other source to do his stuff without having to grapple/bite helpless people?

thanks for your help in advance


A) By the text, it is pretty clear that Fangs does not grant a bite natural attack. It grants them a bite for 1d3 damage when they make "a grapple combat maneuver check to damage an opponent".
Nothing suggest them getting an actual bite attack on top of this.

As such, he has to grapple the opponent.

Fangs are helpful in regards to the Blood Drinker feat, as it allows you to damage and drink from the grappled opponent in one turn. Without Fangs or regular Bite Attack, he need to cut the enemy first.
As written, the Blood Drinker feat, actually cannot be used against a grappled enemy (unless someone else takes a without Fangs or Bite attack. Given that it takes a standard action, you cannot do it while maintaining a grapple.


Thanks for the explaination. So basicly rulewise they built in a bite/grapple/drink mechanic that doesn't do what it probably was supposed to do, flavor wise.

Thanks, I know what to do now:)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification on the Dhampir racial trait Fangs All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions