Spell: "Summon Eidolon" + Feat: Augment Summoning


Rules Questions

Sczarni

Okay, so I've spend some time reading up on the Augment Summoning + Summon Eidolon combo, and I'm not convinced yet that the summon gains the effects. Before you start calling me names, just read through this.

1. Augment Summoning (Feat):
Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.

2. Summon Eidolon (Spell):
You open a rift between dimensions that summons your eidolon. Treat this as if you had summoned your eidolon normally, except that it only remains with you for the duration of this spell. While summoned in this way, your eidolon cannot touch any creature warded by protection from evil or a similar effect and your eidolon can be sent back to its home plane by dispel magic.

If you cast this spell while your eidolon is already on your plane, this spell has no effect. This spell allows you to summon your eidolon even if it has been returned to its home plane due to damage.

Now, on my first read-through, I was in agreement with the idea that Eidolons summoned through this spell gain the effects of augmented summoning, but re-reading it, this line caught my eye:
"Treat this as if you had summoned your eidolon normally, except that it only remains with you for the duration of this spell"
What does that clause mean? To me it's saying that the Eidolon is summoned just as if he were summoned by the Ritual, therefore he would not gain the added effects of the feat.

The spell Summon Eidolon, to me, has a RAI of allowing you to summon your eidolon even after it has died in a day, removing the necessity to wait 24 hours. The idea that you are penalized for letting it die being reversed into a bonus when summoning it seems a bit odd to me, since it's already stronger than the scaling summoned creatures you can get by the regular spell. Flavor-wise and RAI-wise it seems as if it wasn't intended to be used with the feat, though I could be wrong.

I'm not interested in majority opinion on this one, rather someone who can do one of the following:

1. Link me to a FAQ or reputable Paizo Employee that gives a ruling
or
2. Explain to me what the purpose of the clause is that I pointed out.

Thanks!

Silver Crusade

Augmented Summoning says that when you conjure a creature with a summoning spell, it gains the bonuses.

Summon Eidolon says that it's a conjuration (summoning) spell.

Therefore, it should get the benefits of Augmented Summoning when summoned through that spell.

You'll notice that the Eidolon acts like any other summoned creature when summoned: It can't touch creatures warded by a protection spell and it can be sent back to it's plane by dispel magic.'

Therefore, it should receive the bonus from the feat while summoned.

Sczarni

Elamdri,

I see what you are saying, but what about in the spell where it says:

"Treat this as if you had summoned your eidolon normally, except that it only remains with you for the duration of this spell"

Here it says that you should treat the eidolon as if it were summoned normally (via ritual), with the only exception being that it remains for the duration of the spell. Can you respond to this clause? Or at least to the intention of the clause?

Sczarni

If you're wanting an "official answer" then you can do a search using the search functions like anyone else, stop being so lazy.

The clause means that the spell replaces your ritual summoning of the eidolon. It doesn't negate anything attached to a summon spell. It means that unlike a normal summon creature, it returns to play just as if it was summoned with your ritual.

aka

Quote:
A summoner can summon his eidolon in a ritual that takes 1 minute to perform. When summoned in this way, the eidolon hit points are unchanged from the last time it was summoned. The only exception to this is if the eidolon was slain, in which case it returns with half its normal hit points. The eidolon does not heal naturally. The eidolon remains until dismissed by the summoner (a standard action). If the eidolon is sent back to its home plane due to death, it cannot be summoned again until the following day

Some clues to tell you that it's not EXACTLY the same, and should be affected by augment summon is the spell summon eidolon states

Quote:

While summoned in this way, your eidolon cannot touch any creature warded by protection from evil or a similar effect and your eidolon can be sent back to its home plane by dispel magic.

If you cast this spell while your eidolon is already on your plane, this spell has no effect. This spell allows you to summon your eidolon even if it has been returned to its home plane due to damage.

This is a rule that only affects summoned creatures, and that the eidolon is normally immune to.

Secondly the feat its self.

Quote:
Each creature you conjure with any summon spell gains a +4 enhancement bonus to Strength and Constitution for the duration of the spell that summoned it.

What was the name of the spell again?

Summon Eidolon
School conjuration (summoning); Level summoner 2

Sczarni

lantzkev wrote:
If you're wanting an "official answer" then you can do a search using the search functions like anyone else, stop being so lazy.

Jerk, I did search :D

Edit: Reading your reasoning on some of the unique features of an eidolon summoned via ritual starts to tilt me in that direction a bit more, so well done. Are you suggesting that an Eidolon summoned via the spell comes in at 1/2 hp if it was killed in combat?

Sczarni

The clause tells you that anything the triggers off the summoning of the eidolon will happen (nothing is linked as of yet, but could be in future stuff) and that if the eidolon was killed it comes back with half hp, any statuses stay on from last time etc... It just uses less words to do so and is simple to understand.

Silver Crusade

Abadar wrote:

Elamdri,

I see what you are saying, but what about in the spell where it says:

"Treat this as if you had summoned your eidolon normally, except that it only remains with you for the duration of this spell"

Here it says that you should treat the eidolon as if it were summoned normally (via ritual), with the only exception being that it remains for the duration of the spell. Can you respond to this clause? Or at least to the intention of the clause?

Well, nothing about the ritual to call an eidolon says that it denies Augmented Summoning, it's just that the ritual is not a summon spell.

My thoughts on the matter is that if you get the effects of the ritual, VIA a summoning spell, then it should get you the benefit of the feat that affects summoning spells.

My other argument is that if it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it's probably a duck, and if it is a duck, it will probably taste delicious and benefit greatly from the application of a spicy duck sauce.

Eidolons Summoned via the spell Summon Eidolon look like summoned monsters, act like summoned monsters, and are affected by all the rules that affect summon monsters.

To say that, but then to say that they don't get the benefit from the Augmented Summoning feat, unlike every other summoned monster, just doesn't make sense to me.

Either it's a summoned monster or it isn't.

Sczarni

Elamdri wrote:
Well, nothing about the ritual to call an eidolon says that it denies Augmented Summoning, it's just that the ritual is not a summon spell.

Hmmm... I think this is the logical conclusion I was looking for. I'm sold.

Edit: Seems silly, but worded this way just clicked with me somehow.


From another thread:
"'No. The text (unless it's changed from the playtest) says to treat as summon monster # except...; that means it's treated as summon monster #. Also, Jason specifically said during the playtest that Augment Summoning works on it. Also, even the text itself says, "He can cast this spell" when describing the changes.'

Zurai is correct here folks. No need to argue. Augment Summoning does apply to the SLA.

Jason Bulmahn, Lead Designer, Paizo Publishing"

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2l36g&page=9?Compiled-APG-spoiler-thread


@Oscar Mild - It was a little tough tracking down the quote from Jason within that thread. Here's a link with the post number. However, I think that Jason was talking about Augment Summoning applying to the Summon Monster SLA. That doesn't mean that Augment Summoning doesn't (or does) apply to the Summon Eidolon spell, just that the quote from Jason seems to be about something another ability.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell: "Summon Eidolon" + Feat: Augment Summoning All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions