Alchemist bomb DC and squeezing.


Rules Questions


While playing in my friends pathfinder game as an alchemist we were wondering if the dc for the bomb would be 14 or 15 at level 1. 10+0+4 or 10+1+4. The point is does the alchemist level get halved down to zero or does level related dc have a min of 1?
Second, can a creature squeez in a space with out being forced to. Like a ogre spider taking up a space that befits a creature of it's size, then squeezing into half of the space itcwas currently takeing up. My friend argued that it could do that becouse of it's compression ability. I countered that a creature couldn't chose to take up a space smaller than it normally could and that squeezing its a result of said creature trying to fit in a confing space. Any input?


kulg wrote:
we were wondering if the dc for the bomb would be 14 or 15 at level 1. 10+0+4 or 10+1+4. The point is does the alchemist level get halved down to zero or does level related dc have a min of 1?

Bomb (Su): "The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the alchemist's level + the alchemist's Intelligence modifier."

It doesn't specify minimum 1, so a 1st-level alchemist with 18 Int would have DC 14.

kulg wrote:
Second, can a creature squeez in a space with out being forced to. Like a ogre spider taking up a space that befits a creature of it's size, then squeezing into half of the space itcwas currently takeing up. My friend argued that it could do that becouse of it's compression ability. I countered that a creature couldn't chose to take up a space smaller than it normally could and that squeezing its a result of said creature trying to fit in a confing space. Any input?

Squeezing doesn't specify. It implies that you would do so only when moving into or through a confined space. I think it's not intended for a large creature to randomly just squeeze into two squares in the middle of an open field.

Compression (Ex): "The creature can move through an area as small as one-quarter its space without squeezing or one-eighth its space when squeezing."

The middle of an open field is not an area smaller than it's space, so the Compression ability shouldn't apply.


There's a rule mentioned somewhere that unless noted otherwise (specifically per case), when +1/2 is mentioned (or I suppose any fraction), you are supposed to round down.

I thought I'd add that tidbit of information, since Grick didn't explain why.


Joesi wrote:

There's a rule mentioned somewhere that unless noted otherwise (specifically per case), when +1/2 is mentioned (or I suppose any fraction), you are supposed to round down.

I thought I'd add that tidbit of information, since Grick didn't explain why.

Because he was asking about whether there's a minimum of 1, not whether half a level gets rounded up or down.

Citations:

Playing the Game: "Unless otherwise noted, whenever you are must round a number, always round down."

Rounding: "Occasionally the rules ask you to round a result or value. Unless otherwise stated, always round down. For example, if you are asked to take half of 7, the result would be 3."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist bomb DC and squeezing. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions