Question About the Mythic Magus


Player Feedback

Contributor

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I am planning on introducing a mythic magus to my players forthcoming and when selecting his path abilities, I came across an interesting power:

Sweeping Strike (Su): Whenever you make a full-attack action, you can decide to make only one attack roll and apply the results of that roll to all enemies within your reach. Roll damage only once, and apply it to all foes hit by the attack. If the attack is a critical threat, choose only one enemy to target with the critical threat. You must be at least 6th tier before selecting this ability.

Here's my question. If I'm a mythic magus and I use Sweeping Strike, could I combine Sweeping Strike with Spell Combat and Spellstrike for the following effect:

As full-round action, use Spellstrike to deliver Shocking Grasp as a melee touch attack, then sweeping strike that melee touch attack, hitting all enemies within reach with both a melee attack and shocking grasp at once?

I think it would be perfectly fine output wise (and wicked thematic!), but I'm not entirely sure if that move is allowed RAW. What's the verdict on that?


Spell combat is not a full attack action per strict RAW. Spell combat takes a full round action, but not the Full-Attack action full round action.

As to how this should work with this ability? No idea, though my feeling is it probably shouldn't work - if you really want AoE damage as a caster just cast a true AoE spell.


The way I would rule it is Spell Combat is not problem at all. The Spellstrike would only affect the first target. As a GM I would have no problem with a magus hitting 8 different targets but multiplying the spell to affect all 8 would be too much.


You could tecnically cast a swift spell, declare to forfeit the bonus attack and hold the charge (legal) and then commence a full attack action electing to use the Sweeping Strike option. And by strict raw you roll the damage (that includes all damage bonus like sneak attacks or flaming weapons or the spell) and apply it to all the enemy you hitted. That is, because the Sweeping Strike is a single attack and counts as a single hit.

Scarab Sages

There are also a few touch spells that have 1 charge / level. Even under a stricter interpretation of RAW, a touch spell with 8 charges could be discharged once per target hit.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Mythic Adventures Playtest / Player Feedback / Question About the Mythic Magus All Messageboards
Recent threads in Player Feedback