| Ughbash |
OK Boris the Stupendous and Fantastic (BSF) for short is a Human Fighter with a 20 strength.
Carrying Capacity 400Lb heavy load.
Ant Haul for x3 encumbrabce 1200 lb.
Enlarge person to double encumbrance is the encumbrance now 1600 lbs or 2400 lbs.
If it is 1600 lbs, would that be the same for an Ogre Str 20 who got ant Haul or would the ogre have th 2400 lb limit.
How about a tiny Creature? Would it change its carrying capacity from 200 (halved due to size) to 1000? 400 x 2.5? for efecively 5x the weight?
| Pendin Fust |
OK Boris the Stupendous and Fantastic (BSF) for short is a Human Fighter with a 20 strength.
Carrying Capacity 400Lb heavy load.
Ant Haul for x3 encumbrabce 1200 lb.
Enlarge person to double encumbrance is the encumbrance now 1600 lbs or 2400 lbs.
If you cast in that order, then it would be 2400 lbs. If you cast Enlarge Person then Ant Haul, it would still be 2400 lbs.
Ant Haul then Enlarge Person: 400 * 3 = 1200 * 2 = 2400
Enlarge Person then Ant Haul: 400 * 2 = 800 * 3 = 2400
If it is 1600 lbs, would that be the same for an Ogre Str 20 who got ant Haul or would the ogre have th 2400 lb limit.
An ogre is a Large creature, and thus has a +2 to Str. Are you saying that the ogre has 20 Str total, or 20 Str like the Fighter and then +2 for its size modifier?
| Gauss |
As Pendin showed it doesnt really matter since you should get the same result. But, in case there is somehow a difference (probably an error in your calculations) it should be Enlarge then Ant Haul. The rationale is that Enlarge is modifying size and strength, both of which apply before the ant haul which then triples capacity.
- Gauss
| Ughbash |
The reason I siad OGre was because it is a large creature.
Often in D&D math works funny. For example Spear si x3 crit, braced against a charge is x2 damage, Spear braced against a charge is x4 damage.
Basically multipliers tend to multiply the original amount (Unless it specifically calls it out differently) which is why I wondered if for Carrying Capacity X3 Ant Haul and X2 Enlarge = X6 or X4.
| meabolex |
Often in D&D math works funny. For example Spear si x3 crit, braced against a charge is x2 damage, Spear braced against a charge is x4 damage.
Basically multipliers tend to multiply the original amount (Unless it specifically calls it out differently) which is why I wondered if for Carrying Capacity X3 Ant Haul and X2 Enlarge = X6 or X4.
You're thinking of the rule:
Multiplying: When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.
But encumbrance isn't a roll. It's just a flat number determined by your Strength score. In this case, all multipliers multiply as per normal.
| Adamantine Dragon |
One of the most frequently overlooked rules items is the section where it describes how to apply multipliers.
When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.
This is duplicated in at least two sections in the rules, under multipliers in combat and under multipliers in "Common terms".
So if this applies, and I'd love to see a dev weigh in because this is something that has nagged at me for years, then doubling your carrying capacity twice does not give you 4x, it gives you 3x the carrying capacity.
The logic is that the multiplier ALWAYS APPLIES TO THE ORIGINAL AMOUNT, not the already doubled amount. So each doubling only adds the original amount back in, so if your original was 400, then doubling it once adds 400 and doubling it again adds another 400, for a total of 1200, not 1600.
When you do a x3 the same logic applies, so 400 tripled plus 400 doubled is 1600, not 2400.
Nobody does it this way. Not even for multipliers in combat which are specifically said to work this way. This is pretty much a universally ignored rule as far as I can tell.
| Pendin Fust |
@ AD
When you are asked to apply more than one multiplier to a roll, the multipliers are not multiplied by one another. Instead, you combine them into a single multiplier, with each extra multiple adding 1 less than its value to the first multiple. For example, if you are asked to apply a ×2 multiplier twice, the result would be ×3, not ×4.
Bolding my own. Meabolex had the right idea on that.
@Ughbash
If it is a Large creature but has the same STR as a Medium creature (20 in this case) then it's still the same carrying capacity.
If you meant it was a Large creature that had 20 STR like the Medium creature and then +2 for it's size bonus...then it's carrying capacity is increased by +2 STR at each step (base, Enlarge, then Ant Haul).
| Whale_Cancer |
If it is a Large creature but has the same STR as a Medium creature (20 in this case) then it's still the same carrying capacity.
If you meant it was a Large creature that had 20 STR like the Medium creature and then +2 for it's size bonus...then it's carrying capacity is increased by +2 STR at each step (base, Enlarge, then Ant Haul).
Bigger and Smaller Creatures: The figures on Table: Carrying Capacity are for Medium bipedal creatures. A larger bipedal creature can carry more weight depending on its size category, as follows: Large ×2, Huge ×4, Gargantuan ×8, Colossal ×16. A smaller creature can carry less weight depending on its size category, as follows: Small ×3/4, Tiny ×1/2, Diminutive ×1/4, Fine ×1/8.
| Pendin Fust |
@Whale_Cancer
The difference is that normal STR scores (which are what influences carrying capacities) for a Large creature is +2 compared to a Medium creature.
That's why I asked the OP if he meant the Medium Creature and the Large Creature had the same STR score. I didn't want to do the math for the x2 Large Creature Carrying Capacity if he actually meant the creature was supposed to be STR 22.