5-foot step after teleport or forced move?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Can you take a 5-foot step immediately after casting teleport or being forcefully moved to another square by an outside force?

The rules for 5-foot step seem to indicate that you can't take a 5FS if you move ANY DISTANCE in that round.

Just how strict is that rule exactly?


Hmmm, interesting question.

The rules aren't as explicit as they could be on this topic. Here's one quote:

Quote:


Move Actions

With the exception of specific movement-related skills, most move actions don't require a check.

Move

The simplest move action is moving your speed. If you take this kind of move action during your turn, you can't also take a 5-foot step.

This one seems to indicate that the only movement that prevents you from taking a 5-foot step is the kind that comes form a move action where you move some portion of your speed.

However, here it says:

Quote:
If you move no actual distance in a round (commonly because you have swapped your move action for one or more equivalent actions), you can take one 5-foot step either before, during, or after the action.

So according to this quote, any movement at all, involuntary or not, would preclude you from taking a 5-foot step.

Here's the actual text on 5-foot step.

Quote:

Take 5-Foot Step

You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity. You can't take more than one 5-foot step in a round, and you can't take a 5-foot step in the same round that you move any distance.

You can take a 5-foot step before, during, or after your other actions in the round.

You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature.

You may not take a 5-foot step using a form of movement for which you do not have a listed speed.

Again, the first bolded section seems to preclude teleporting then making a 5-foot step. But that WOULD prevent you from taking a 5-foot step if you were moved involuntarily. So a strict reading of the rules would, I suppose, indicate that involuntary movement or teleportation precludes a 5-foot step.

I generally hate bringing my opinion to this forum, because it doesn't really belong in the Rules forum, but I have to say that a literal interpretation of this rule probably isn't how it was intended to be. I could see teleportation stopping a 5-foot step (goodness knows my Travel Domain cleric was goshdanged abusive, heh), but involuntary movement, too? That seems really limiting. I guess the crux of this argument comes down to how "movement" is defined. Does one define it as having one's relative or absolute position changed, or as actually executing a move action to move a portion of your speed?


PRD Movement wrote:

Movement

There are three movement scales, as follows:

•Tactical, for combat, measured in feet (or 5-foot squares) per round.
•Local, for exploring an area, measured in feet per minute.
•Overland, for getting from place to place, measured in miles per hour or miles per day.

PRD Tactical Movement wrote:
Tactical movement is used for combat. Characters generally don't walk during combat, for obvious reasons—they hustle or run instead. A character who moves his speed and takes some action is hustling for about half the round and doing something else the other half.

Movement is bound to your speed (land, swim, climb, fly) and to move actions. Do you use a move action while casting teleport? No then you can do a 5ft step. Do you use a move action while violently moved around by some special ability (bullrush, force push etc.)? No then you can do a 5ft step.

Silver Crusade

Eridan wrote:
PRD Movement wrote:

Movement

There are three movement scales, as follows:

•Tactical, for combat, measured in feet (or 5-foot squares) per round.
•Local, for exploring an area, measured in feet per minute.
•Overland, for getting from place to place, measured in miles per hour or miles per day.

PRD Tactical Movement wrote:
Tactical movement is used for combat. Characters generally don't walk during combat, for obvious reasons—they hustle or run instead. A character who moves his speed and takes some action is hustling for about half the round and doing something else the other half.

Movement is bound to your speed (land, swim, climb, fly) and to move actions. Do you use a move action while casting teleport? No then you can do a 5ft step. Do you use a move action while violently moved around by some special ability (bullrush, force push etc.)? No then you can do a 5ft step.

You can only take a 5-foot step on your own turn. If you are the passenger in someone else's teleport then you can't 5-foot step. If you have delayed your initiative to go straight after your mage, then since it's now your turn you can 5-foot step if you want, subject to the normal limitations.

If you are bull-rushed, then it probably isn't your turn; if it isn't you can't take a 5-foot step.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hopefully, the rule is limited to just voluntary mundane movement, otherwise, I'm not certain a wizard could 5-foot step away from a threat then teleport to safety.


This...

Ravingdork wrote:
Hopefully, the rule is limited to just voluntary mundane movement, otherwise, I'm not certain a wizard could 5-foot step away from a threat then teleport to safety.

...is what Ravingdork is talking about. Instances of teleportation or involuntary movement that could prevent you from taking a 5-foot step.

You two sort of missed the point of the post.

Also, I'll point out that some instances do allow move-action teleports, such as the Travel Domain.

Grand Lodge

The Travel Domain ability interested me as well.

Liberty's Edge

RD asked "after teleport".

5' foot step and then teleporting has no problem.
Start turn:
- make a 5' step: something prohibit it? No
- standard action, cast teleport: something prohibit it? No

Teleporting and 5' step
- standard action, cast teleport: something prohibit it? No
- 5' move? Maybe. Dimension door say "After using this spell, you can't take any other actions until your next turn." A 5' step is a no action. RAI probably you can't take a 5' step. RAW? ....
Teleporting isn't a Dimension door and its text didn't have that note, so it is even more questionable.

In my games teleportation end your turn. But AFAIK it is not RAW.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 5-foot step after teleport or forced move? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions