Wielding Gauntlets and a Bow


Rules Questions


I've heard this argument before but not until recently has it bugged me. How does one by the rules do this? By the rules you can not wield two weapons at the same time, but you can "hold" a weapon. But there is not physical difference between wielding and holding when it comes to gauntlets, so in theory you are wielding them at all times. as well as it is utterly ludicrous to imagine a person trying to fire a bow while wearing metal gloves.

If a character were to attack with a two handed weapon what is to stop him from using his free action to then hold the two handed weapon in one hand and make another off handed attack with an unarmed strike?

Also, according to the Gauntlet description- all that it does is cause your unarmed strikes to deal lethal as opposed to non-lethal damage. so if someone was going to use the Gauntlet to make an attack of opportunity would they then provoke a second AOO while making their AOO? and can you make an AOO while charging? provided that they don't have improved unarmed strike

Grand Lodge

Gauntlets do Gauntlet damage, not unarmed strike damage.

By the way, why are you not using Armor Spikes instead?


Read as written from armor spikes:
"You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case."

key words in this are "Regular melee attack" and "In this case" No where does it say that armor spikes are legitimate weapons in which you can make attacks of opportunity with, nor would they allow you to incorporate them into full attacks. Unless there is some official statement that i do not know about.

Also from two weapon fighting:
If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.

It doesn't state that you can wield armor spikes because they are not a legitimate weapon. You are not wielding them in your off hand you can simply make an attack as on offhand attack.

maybe the intent was to allow you to use them in two weapon fighting, but from the wording and the inability to "wield" the armor spikes in your 'off hand' i would not allow it.

Scarab Sages

VDZ wrote:

Read as written from armor spikes:

"You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case."

key words in this are "Regular melee attack" and "In this case" No where does it say that armor spikes are legitimate weapons in which you can make attacks of opportunity with, nor would they allow you to incorporate them into full attacks. Unless there is some official statement that i do not know about.

Also from two weapon fighting:
If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.

It doesn't state that you can wield armor spikes because they are not a legitimate weapon. You are not wielding them in your off hand you can simply make an attack as on offhand attack.

Then how on earth are you defining Regular melee attack? It also says in armor spikes that they can be used for making off-hand attacks, and off-hand only refers to the Two-Weapon Fighting mechanic, meaning they can be used as part of a Full Attack. Armor Spikes are just as much a weapon as Gauntlets, or a shortsword.

That's why in the description for armor spikes it specifically says "The spikes count as a martial weapon".

That bit you quoted about wielding a second weapon in your offhand is from the flavor text of the feat, and has no mechanical relevance. If you're using that to back your stance you may as well say that a fighter gains the ability to cast spells as long as he's standing still if he takes the Still Spell, since the flavor text says "You can cast spells without moving."
The mechanical portion of Two-Weapon Fighting says: "Benefit: Your penalties on attack rolls for fighting with two weapons are reduced. The penalty for your primary hand lessens by 2 and the one for your off hand lessens by 6. See Two-Weapon Fighting in Combat." This doesn't specify a limb, just that you have a main hand and off hand weapon, which Armor Spikes meet the qualifications for in their own description.

Grand Lodge

No.
I can Full-attack with Armor Spikes only.

I can Trip using Armor Spikes.

I can Disarm using Armor Spikes.

I can Sunder using Armor Spikes.

I can Two-Weapon Fight using Armor Spikes.

I can make Attacks of Opportunity with Armor Spikes.


If you're referring to me clocking someone in the face while holding my bow in the other hand on Sunday, it was a spiked gauntlet, not a normal gauntlet. :P

Spiked gauntlets are gauntlets that alter attacks made using them to be armed attacks for 1d4 damage. Armor spikes function similarly;

PRD - Armor Spikes wrote:

You can have spikes added to your armor, which allow you to deal extra piercing damage (see “spiked armor” on Table: Weapons) on a successful grapple attack. The spikes count as a martial weapon. If you are not proficient with them, you take a –4 penalty on grapple checks when you try to use them. You can also make a regular melee attack (or off-hand attack) with the spikes, and they count as a light weapon in this case. (You can't also make an attack with armor spikes if you have already made an attack with another off-hand weapon, and vice versa.) An enhancement bonus to a suit of armor does not improve the spikes' effectiveness, but the spikes can be made into magic weapons in their own right.


Armor spikes are weapons as stated above. And yes you can use both gauntlet and another weapon (range is debatable) in one round. Old dragon article in there last year answer yes to two weapon fighting with greatsword and spiked guantlet.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wielding Gauntlets and a Bow All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions