Clockwork Golems and Grinding


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court Owner - Enchanted Grounds, President/Owner - Enchanted Grounds

Tomorrow I am running a scenario with clockwork golems in an encounter. While reading their stat block, a question occurred to me.

The attack is 2 slams +23 (2d10 + 8 plus grab). The golem has a special attack called grind:

PRD wrote:
Grind (Ex) A clockwork golem deals an additional 2d10+12 points of slashing damage when it makes a successful grapple check as razor-sharp gears and blades emerge from its body to grind and slice its foe.

So, each slam attack can grab. Then, assuming each grab is successful, it can grind twice?

I suppose the sequence of events, rules-wise, would be this:

1 - Attack with the first slam
2 - Assuming a hit, do damage
3 - Again assuming a hit, roll for grab
4 - If the grab is successful, do grind damage
5 - Free action, drop the grabbed opponent
6 - Start second slam attack

Do I have this wrong? I hope not. The possibility of 8d10 + 40 damage is a wee bit exciting, I cannot lie. Especially considering the group I'm playing with...

Sovereign Court Owner - Enchanted Grounds, President/Owner - Enchanted Grounds

No opinions? Seems strange...

Lantern Lodge

in the main book it states that a grapple is a standard action, if you do not release the grapple you must make a check each round to maintain it. If successful you can then do one of the following; move, damage, or tie up.
Just because you have someone grabbed, unless you do the cmb vs cmd (which is a standard action) it does not mean you have them in a grapple.

Please refer to pgs 199 - 201 in the main book for further clarification.

Sovereign Court Owner - Enchanted Grounds, President/Owner - Enchanted Grounds

Um, grab rules aren't under debate, here.

PRD wrote:
Grab (Ex) If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity.

I'm more curious about dropping the grab before the second attack so I can grind again.


Well, I'm not sure you can perform a free action in the middle of an ongoing action (The full attack, in this case) aside from those sanctioned by a special rule like grab.

Either way, I can think of better ways to use the clockwork golems than just an extra-damage exploit.

Assuming that there are multiple golems, have on grapple an important party member and grind every turn during CMB checks to maintain the hold, and one of the others form the wall of gears, cutting him off from support. Any other golems can be used for additional roles in the combat.

Sovereign Court Owner - Enchanted Grounds, President/Owner - Enchanted Grounds

Totally agree with you, Wyrm. Just want more options than the usual, is all. I'm pretty sure it works, just like you can 5' in the midst of full attacks.

Regardless, the encounter has been played and I did pull those shenanigans (including wall of gears stuff). It resulted in a couple Breath of life uses along with one burned raise dead. It worked out well. And the good guys still won in the end without anyone being perma-dead, so a good time was had by all.

Thanks.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clockwork Golems and Grinding All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions