Question on Ki Strike


Rules Questions


Another monk related question: does ki strike, which allows a 4th level or higher monk bypass Damage Reduction x/Magic if he retains at least one point of ki in his ki pool, also mean that a monk's unarmed strikes count as magic weapons for the purpose of striking incorporeal targets?

MA


Hmm... The definition of incorporeal in the SRD includes the text "magic weapons or creatures that strike as magic weapons" in the list of things that can harm incorporeal creatures. I would say yes.


Horbagh wrote:
Hmm... The definition of incorporeal in the SRD includes the text "magic weapons or creatures that strike as magic weapons" in the list of things that can harm incorporeal creatures. I would say yes.

I would like that to be the case, but ki strike says

Quote:
As long as he has at least 1 point in his ki pool, he can make a ki strike. At 4th levle, ki strike allows his unarmed attacks to be treated as magic weapons for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.

It was one of the major drawbacks of the 3.5/3.0 monk, but I thought that it wouldn't hurt to ask the developers what their intention was.

MA

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Question on Ki Strike All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.