Recalled Blessing - Dice Rerolling


Mythic Adventures Playtest General Discussion

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Quote:
Recalled Blessing (Su): You can expend one use of mythic power to cast any one divine spell. This spell must be one that you prepared for the day (even if it has already been cast) or be from your list of spells known (if you cast spells spontaneously). If the spell requires a saving throw, any nonmythic targets making such a saving throw must roll twice and take the worse result. In addition, if the spell cures an aff liction, heals damage, or removes a condition, you can roll any dice associated with the spell twice and take the better result. You can’t apply any metamagic feats to this spell.

This one has some RAW interpretation "flexibility" in the way it is written. To my knowledge I can't think of another example where dice rerolling involves more then one die. So as an example, Cure Critical Wounds (4d8+x) would the player rolled:

MAX(4d8,4d8)+x

or

MAX(1d8,1d8)+MAX(1d8,1d8)+MAX(1d8,1d8)+MAX(1d8,1d8)+x

(Max also being the ceiling function)

The first one is going to produce a more average result then the second, I've only just begun skimming, but I didn't see any other similar rerolling like abilities quiet like this, so I think the language could be tightened to give a particular meaning.

Paizo Employee Lead Designer

Its the first one. The second version is a bit too good and way to complicated at the table.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing


A related question, if I convert a spell into a cure spell, can I recall the prepared spell or the cure spell that was cast? Example: Convert protection from evil into cure light wounds, which spell can be recalled?

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Mythic Adventures Playtest / General Discussion / Recalled Blessing - Dice Rerolling All Messageboards
Recent threads in General Discussion